I have to reset my cmos everytime I lose AC power

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mace, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Does anyone know what's wrong? It's been like this ever since I got my motherboard. It's a MSI Neo2 Platinum w/ a Athlon 64 3200+.

    It's quite annoying. Everytime I lose AC power, like if I need to change something in my pc, I have to reset the cmos in order to get it to boot. Otherwise it will start up, but not boot, when I first turn the power on and then it will never start again unless I clear the cmos.
     
  2. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    never heard of something like this, but I would suggest updating the BIOS and/or getting a new cmos battery
     
  3. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I did update the bios, but it didn't fix the problem. I was thinking about the cmos battery, but I dunno if that would fix it. wouldn't hurt I suppose.
     
  4. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    my thinking is that the battery is the only thing keeping the settings alive when ac power is lost. If your settings somehow get corrupted w/o the ac power then it just has to be the battery, even though it sounds like the MB is new and without cmos power the cmos should default to basic settings. It seems far less likely that there is a problem with the cmos itself. So best of luck to you.
     
  5. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    So settings can be corrupted if it's a bad battery? then that must be the problem because it seems like the settings are getting corrupted after ac power loss for some reason.
     
  6. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I replaced the battery, but the problem still persists. :(
     
  7. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    RMA the bitch
     
  8. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    it's annoying, but not that annoying. It's not worth my time to wait and pay shipping.
     
  9. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    I'd consider that beyond annoying.. considering my machine is a LAN party machine and I disconnect power quit often. If you haven't replaced the power supply, this might be something to consider.

    I was having issues with the clock losing time, and a few other annoyances. I replaced the CMOS battery (twice, thinking the first one might be bad as well), but the problem continued. I borrowed a test kit from a buddy and found that one of the channels of the power supply had failed. Once I replaced the PSU, all the problems were solved. I've had good luck with Antec power supplies, but I've seen people here recommend other brands. Search for power supply and you can probably find those threads.
     
  10. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I haven't tried a different power supply, I've considered it, but I've never used a diferent one. That may be the problem, but I dunno.

    It's not beyond annoying to me because I have my machine hooked up to a backup power supply and it only happens when there is no AC Power for about 1-2 minutes. I suppose that's how long it takes for all the capacitors to completly lose power. So considering all that it's just a minor annoyance.
     

Share This Page