WEB I have no experience, how difficult would it be?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NgrLvr, Jul 14, 2008.

1. NgrLvr

NgrLvr Guest

To build a site comparable to http://www.ontariohockeyleague.com/hm/

By comparable, I just mean the overall look. The drop down menus. I am trying to put something together for our local hockey league and no one else has the initiative to do anything of the sort.

At the very most it would be a cover page, a main page, stats, standings, scores, a message board(vbulletin) and an about/directions page.

If I had someone design it for me, how much should I expect to pay?

2. Browning

Browning Active Member

jesus christ that's cluttered as fuck:rofl:

3. themolsen

themolsen New Member

use a CMS :dunno: even if you don't know what you're doing, you can get a decent Joomla-based site up and running in no time. look around and try out different CMSs and find one you like

http://www.opensourcecms.com/

4. intrktevo

intrktevo New Member

I just put up http://rollerhockeyucf.com for our club, and used wordpress for the plugin. Obviously it's not as dynamic as something custom coded, but it works well.

5. NgrLvr

NgrLvr Guest

Wow, thats pretty comparable to what I would like to make. I think i'll give it a shot. If I get anything reasonable together I'll make sure to post a link.

:bowdown::bowdown::bowdown:

6. YourMomOnRyeBun

YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

Can't go wrong with these guys...
    http://www.teamsporttech.com/

You pay a monthly fee for the service (they also host the site) but it is UBER-easy for anyone (with user access) to edit. You can give access to certain people in your league so that they can update the site and you do it all within IE (or other browser).

I have a site through them...let me know if you have any questions.

7. themolsen

themolsen New Member

way better than the site the OP linked too, IMO. less cluttered, easier to navigate, more pleasant typography, "quieter"

8. YourMomOnRyeBun