I have Dish.. Can it work at another house w/o addit. fee?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bumpineclipsegsx, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. bumpineclipsegsx

    bumpineclipsegsx OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Heartland
    I currently have Dish at my house. I would actually like to have my satalite work at my office. I understand i would have to install a dish there.. but is there a way to not pay for two services? My office doesn't have a phone line either.. so I'm curious if that creates any issues.

    Has anyone done this before?

    Thanks in advance OT.. i appreciate it!
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Back in the day you could pull a Smart Card out of your dish receiver in one place and plug it into your receiver somewhere else, but they caught on to that little trick and now they hardwire the Smart Card inside the receiver box.
     
  3. boston456

    boston456 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    The answer is no however the card is not hardwired in the box. They have come up with a way of marrying the card to the receiver so that it only works on that receiver. The option to try would be to bring the box and swap it out with your friends for the time.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any chance he could score an old receiver on eBay and use his card in that?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    have an extra "room" installed at home, then do a dish mover to get the dish installed and aligned at the new location, then keep some receivers at one, and others at the other.

    this violates your aup, btw.
     

Share This Page