I have a question about RAM....

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ribbie, Nov 24, 2005.

  1. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,803
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    204
    I just built a computer and put in some PC4800 2x512 OCZ platinum ram. I want to get another gig but I"m not sure what I should do. Should I buy the same type of ram? Or is it fine to buy something slightly less expensive?

    I was looking at getting 2x512 PC4000 OCZ plat for about 60 bucks cheaper.
     
  2. peterthesmart

    peterthesmart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If you want to run the memory in dual channel, you need the exact same ram.
     
  3. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,803
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    204
    I know that, they would both be dual channel but they will have different timings.....
     
  4. eck

    eck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    You're memory will only run as fast as the slowest stick. So you're essentially relegating your nice expensive ram to the cheap stuff you want to add in. Spend the money to match it up or you're just wasting it.
     
  5. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,803
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    204
    Thank you.
     
  6. eck

    eck New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I'm no expert, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night ;)
     

Share This Page