I have 12 years of Unix experience, and I must say...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Natas, Aug 29, 2005.

1. Natas

Natas O&A Party Rock

That Fedora Core 4 is by the far one of the best operating systems I have EVERY used. Installed it tonight over an installation of Red Hat 9 on my primary machine and I couldn't be more happier.

Any other happy users?

2. Penguin Man

Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

Ubuntu here. Never had any reason to try FC.

3. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

although not very pretty installing, I still like gentoo over all the linux distros.

4. Joe_Cool

Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

Never tried Gentoo, but Ubuntu is pretty great. And I'm using FC3 on my server, FC1 on my laptop, and haven't tried FC4. But Fedora overall runs like a dream. It's more seamless and intuitive than windows, and other than games, there's about nothing I can do in Windows that I can't do under Fedora.

5. kingtoad

kingtoad OT Supporter

All I can say is that you've never used Gentoo linux in your 12 years of Unix experience.

6. crontab

crontab (uid = 0)

12 years experience? What other flavors have you used/comparing to. Fedora is great for home, but it ends there.

7. TheRider

TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

Unix does not equal Linux.

8. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Or maybe... he prefers Redhat. OMG! Brand loyalty = Religion for the new Millenium.

Redhat 9 to FC4 is a very, very big upgrade. Like about 4 versions up, yes? Yeah, its nice ain't it?

9. Joe_Cool

I know the question wasn't for me, but I've worked on AIX, Solaris, BSD, and Slackware, in addition to what I've already said. And I still like Fedora. :dunno:

10. crontab

crontab (uid = 0)

Okay then, what did those boxes do? How big were they? Load?

11. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member