I have 1000, and I wanna get rid of it on a comp.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ingen, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    Okay, I know precisely dick about computer hardware, but I do know what I need. I would like to be able to get a decent LCD monitor in this package as well (and I'd love if it was halfway sharp and not a POS).

    Computer MUST be able to:

    *Run Photoshop 7 (at least!) with mondo-huge pics (I'm a photographer)
    *Have at least an 8x dvd burner, preferably cdrw/dvdrw combo.
    *run autocad 2005 and solidworks 2k5
    *run nikoncapture 4.0 (more intensive than photoshop :dunno:
    *be able to do any/all of the above while I listen to winamp or pandora.

    Please help me out? I'd like usb 2.0 ports too, obviously. I think I have to build it to get what i want, but I'm not adverse to dell or something like that. I KNOW that I need them things up thar, and that I'm not qualified to figure it out. I need the thing BAD, so a decision soon would benefit me greatly. Help me OT, and I will be forever in your debt.

    :noes:
     
  2. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    Damn, y'all's some cold mofos :(
     
  3. shauze

    shauze The horror

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, for a computer with the power to run all that, you might want to consider a little higher budget. It would be much cheaper to build your own, but since I don't know how well that would work out, I'm just goign to suggest a few conponents you might want to look for in a prebuilt PC. Since you will be running very memory intensive programs, you'll need at least 1 gig of ram, but 2 would be preferable. You'll probably want a processor with dual cores, as well as a pretty good graphics card. You'll also need a pretty big hard drive for storing all those pictures.

    Edit: Here is a decent PC that should be able to do what you need it to do. I would suggest upgrading it to 1 gig of ram, the dual core processor, and possibly the video card and hard drive.

    http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&oc=DXPS400F1&s=dhs
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2005
  4. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    I'm building a comp for slightly more than 1000. It was under until I added a tube of artic silver 5 (hell, why not?) and a glowing blue keyborad :p Take a look and let me know if I forgot ANYTHING, please?

    Case: Coolermaster centurion 5 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16811119047

    Processor: Pentium 4 530J - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819116200

    Mobo: ASUS P5LD2 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131539

    Drive: WD Caviar 80G - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822135106

    Ram: 2x corsair valueselect DDR2 533 1gb - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820145525
    (would I benefit a whole shitload from going with ddr2667 rather than 533?)

    Vid card: 6600GT 128mb - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814125156
    this isn't meant to be an ubergaming rig, it's for photoshop and autocad. No, I can't afford an openGL card, I already checked :)

    PSU: Antec Truepower 430W - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817103928

    DVD-RW combo: NEC thingy - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16827152055

    Stupid keyboard: Saitek PZ30AU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16823175103

    OS: Windows XP pro, yeah, I'm buying it.

    El Fin. So the total on all that badass shit comes to something like 1100 shipped. I'm getting a 17" dell ultrasharp LCD for christmas, so no worries there. Am I forgetting anything? A cable modem or anything like that? It sure would be nice to just put everything together and have it work like a dream :) Your thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2005
  5. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    OK, ther'es the list of the shit I wanna buy. Did I forget anything?
     
  6. CastorTroy

    CastorTroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    That setup would be OK, but if you can afford about $70 more, an AMD Athlon X2 would really help CAD and Photoshop with it's dual core and built in memory controller.
     
  7. shauze

    shauze The horror

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a nice set up, should definatly be able to handle your programs. Now if you can get it hooked up and running you'll be good to go. One thing you may want to add is a floppy drive, you never know when you might need them, and you can get one for cheap anyway.
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: The X2 is a nice processor.
     
  9. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    But if I do that, I know I have to change motherboards too... would I need to change the operating system? How bout programs?

    Help my noobness, please :bowdown:
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, you'd need to change boards, but it shouldn't be a problem to find one in the same price range. You could run your current OS/programs, but you could also get the 64-bit version of whatever OS you're running.
     
  11. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    El shit. I found the proc, but its' like 330 dollars, whch is more than 180 by a lot. :(
     
  12. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd also have to change your memory to DDR400... It's a nice processor.
     
  13. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    Well the processor I'm using right now is gonna be running DDR2 533, which I was under the impression is higher up on the chain? *shrug*

    Is it worth the extra money though? I mean, seriously, how big of a difference am I gonna see? The processor I'm getting is a nice processor.... what's gonna make this one eleventy times nicer? Convince me, I want good shit!
     
  14. CastorTroy

    CastorTroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anytown, USA
    The AMD X2 will require a different board, but the motherboards are generally cheaper for AMD's. The one you chose for the Intel is $168. Whereas you can get a nice Asus A8N-E for $108, so you save $60 right there. And then factor in using regular DDR instead of DDR2 will save some cash on RAM as well. DDR2 has higher latencies as well, while newer, doesn't help performance.

    If you do a quick google search on "X2 photoshop test" you'll find some good tests and benches that won't leave a doubt in your mind :)
     
  15. sowapowa

    sowapowa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    re

    If you are interested in getting an X2, fry's had the X2 3800+ on sale during black friday for $280 + tax with a ecs mobo.

    There should be a bunch of people trying to profit off of this on ebay. Maybe you can snag a x2 for cheaper than $320.
     
  16. DJ Cripsen

    DJ Cripsen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Japan/Maine
    make sure you get a good monitor like a dell ...2005fpw ftw
     
  17. vegeoku

    vegeoku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missorui
    Well looking at your setup, not too bad, but I would skip the Intel, and go AMD, I don't know how great the X2 processor is and you might get away with a cheaper AMD proc, a;; up to you though. For Photoshop and all those others, 2gb of ram would really help you out on times, try to get 2gb instead of just 1. The harddrive, large pictures, i would get at least a 160gb drive, if not a 200 or 300gb one, they are pretty cheap these days, I got a 300gb drive for under 100 bucks a few weeks ago. The rest seems fine to me. Just try to find it in your budget to get the things I mentioned above and you should be fine.

    Peace out.
     

Share This Page