I hate my job

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nickelleon, Jul 25, 2006.

1. nickelleon

nickelleon not nickelodeon

Im a web developer for a big company and I work on applications for my clients to use. What pisses me off is that our development environment is all sorts of fucked up and I have to get it to work in development before it is approved. But once it is approved, I have to pray it works in production. Why the fuck am I developing code to work in a dev environment?? I should be developing code to work in production :mad:

/:rant2:

2. nickelleon

nickelleon not nickelodeon

WTF, AppDev just told me that the reason the session wasn't closing was because the dev server was slow to respond. I swear to god, I wonder if we are using a Palm m105 as the dev server. :mad:

3. Zak8022

Zak8022 New Member

Isnt the reason companies have a separate dev environment is to make sure new apps/code doesnt nuke the production stuff and therefore cause huge problems?

Isnt the dev environment supposed to closely mimic porduction anyways?

4. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

I believe you've accurately deduced the cause of the OP's frustration.

5. deusexaethera

All I can suggest, aside from quitting your job and finding a new one, is to build your own pre-production environment, write your code so it runs properly, and then make a copy of the code and fuck with it til it runs on the development server. When it gets approved, submit the un-fucked-with code to the client on the down-low.

6. CyberBullets

CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

And get your ass fired for not following proper procedure. Brilliant!

7. piratepenguin

piratepenguin New Member

Get the dev enviornment fixed..?

8. deusexaethera