I got adware/virus, help me get rid of it please?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zanyspy_dude, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I've run ad-aware, spybot, and symentic antivirus (all up to date) and they've removed what they can. IE still randomly brings up new ads for my viewing pleasure, even though the browser is closed. I've uninstalled IE then reinstalled and this doesn't fix it. I've deleted IE for now, but how do i get rid of these add pop up's?
     
  2. ChatChai

    ChatChai OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
  3. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Thanks for the advice, i just got pissed off and reformatted :(
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) Proceed to the Apple Store.

    2) Buy a Mac.

    3) XXXX

    4) Profit! Errr, never have this problem again.
     
  5. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    .

    or, if you don't have any money, install Linux.
     
  6. kYd

    kYd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England, Nottingham
    Get firefox :hsugh:
     
  7. ChatChai

    ChatChai OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    all the above will work also :bigthumb:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    don't use norton?
     
  9. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    did you try running spyware/antivirus programs under safe mode?

    alot of spyware crap will start up when you boot, when you try to close it down and quaratine, it will make another copy and so on
     

Share This Page