SRS I feel like my life is falling apart right now & I don't know how to begin fixing it

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by calisteph6, Nov 4, 2009.

1. calisteph6

calisteph6 Active Member

First off my relationship is in danger of ending, and I contribute a lot of it to my inability to communicate effectively.

I'm also really unhappy in my choosen career (that I went to school for) and I think part of that is the job I have now and that also may be from my inability to communicate properly. I'm an accountant and trying to study for the CPA exam and the stress of working 40+ hours a week and studying is really wearing me and my relationship down, but I don't even know if that's the problem.

I feel like I can only identify either happy or unhappy and I can't even pinpoint why exactly I'm unhappy, I just feel confused. I also have a huge feeling of guilt over feeling like a failure over not being 'good' at my job and not really exceling after getting a degree and not being able to sucessfully pass these exams (I've taken 1 out of 4 and I failed it...I got a 65 and I needed a 75 to pass.)

My father died a little over a year ago and he really wanted me to be an accountant and he was really proud of me graduating and I know that he's dead and he doesn't know that I hate accounting but somehow I still feel like I'm letting him down.

I'm just at this point where I have no idea what to do. Do I just forget accounting and try something else? Do I tough it out and pass the exam and try to get a different job and see if things work out?

And I don't even know where to start with my boyfriend situation. I just feel like I can't get my shit together and now it's wearing him down. He thinks I need to get therapy for the grief about my dad and other stuff but now I'm starting to think I should have done that months and months ago and maybe it's too late.

2. tenxia

tenxia OT Supporter