SRS I feel like I have an inferiority complex

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Finesse, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Finesse

Finesse Back for the First Time

I've just recently started my college career this fall semester, everything's been going great and I've done very well for myself socially. As a high school student I was always good with people but I never cared academically, however I did pretty well for myself on the ACT and got into a decent college.

But now that I'm here all I want to do is win. I constantly stress about my grades and how I'm managing my time at any point in the day. I feel like if I make anything below a 3.5 this semester I will have ruined my future. I know this is completely irrational and ridiculous but I can't stop the thought of ending up an average Joe completely consume me...

My parents have never been adamant about me making stellar grades, but I guess the fact that they're both professors gives me this that I need to be part of the academic elite. My sister, who's 3 years older than me and a senior at the same university just recently took the LSAT and did phenomenal. She will most likely end up at a top tier law school, and as happy as that makes me it also makes me completely envious. And I feel like if I don't do anything as good or better I will be looked at as the loser.

Once again I know all of this is completely irrational thinking, I just wanted to vent a little. :hsd: Thanks Asylum

2. Darketernal

Darketernal Watch: Aria The Origination =)

Your life is your problem, and you become what you make of it. I therefore see it as a 'healthy' drive , that you're going to do everything in your power to make the best of your future.

The thing is just that 'you shouldn't become a victim of the paranoid', quite frankly you don't have the time to worry about becoming an average joe, rather redirect that energy into positive workforce to become an exellent student.