SRS I don't know how to act in this situation...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Brujo, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Brujo

Brujo New Member

I've never posted in here before and I only browse it sometimes so I dont know if this is where this needs to be.

Its a bit of a read, but i'll try and keep it short.

Last semester, I studied abroad in Italy with 32 other students from my university. In that time, I became really close with one girl in particualar. Everything clicked... but I knew that I didnt want to date her. When things started getting physical (thanks to a good bit of alcohol), I had to tell her that I enjoyed being with her, but that I didnt want to be a boyfriend for her. She cried, but we continued to progress in our non-relationship relationship. Over the course of the semester, I had to have a serious talk with her 3 times about not wanting to be a boyfriend. Things started getting really physical though, and I know that I was sending mixed signals the whole time.

Everyday, I probably spent about 12 hours with her, easily. Wherever I was, she was... and I didnt completely hate that fact.... I really liked her... as a friend.

Once we got back, we didnt get to see each other for 5 weeks. In that time, I tried to call her a couple times a week to try and keep in touch. Everytime I called though, it felt like she was getting further and further away.

Once we came back for our spring semester, I sat down with her in class and she practically ignored me. She made it painfully obvious that she wanted nothing to do with me. And frankly, I was oddly fine with that. She ended up calling later that night to explain that she didnt want to hang out with me anymore. I told her that I was completely cool with that, and I dont think she was expecting that reaction. I had a great group of friends and some other female interests to keep me busy for the time being.