I connected my computer to my new 27' hdtv

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by August Burns, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. August Burns

    August Burns New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cook County
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    It looks like the comptuer thinks there are two monitors . . . is that not the case?? Try changing the display properties for monitor 1, that looks to be set to 640 or something small . . .
     
  3. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    I have similiar Olevia tv 26" (I hate it - lcd smear)
    Anyways, I use a program called powerstrip to create custom resolutions.
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    What video card are you using?

    How does the monitor hook to the video card?

    How does the TV hook to the video card?

    What media player are you using?

    Provide screenshots of the symptom, in this case poor quality video on the TV.
     
  5. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    Video card = MSI ti4200 128mb Video In/Video Out
    I'm using a dvi cable from the video card to my Olevia 26"
    I don't have cable tv feed into the TV but
    I'm using an hdmi cable from my dvd player into the Olevia.
    I use various media players. Mostly media player classic w/CoreAVC to watch hdtv rips. I use VLC player for mostly everything else.
    I use foobar for mp3's.
    Video quality is great. The LCD smear I listed above is a permanent smear on the screen. It will not go away no matter what I do. It is almost like there was some leakage inside the tv.
     
  6. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm still a little hazy on what the actual problem is.

    So far, here's what I've got: You are not using a regular monitor at all. The only monitor is the TV. Nice TV (appears to run 720p). DVI hookup is good. using decent media players. Video card is a bit old.
     
  7. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    Pic when I first bought it.
    Although it does look a lil different now since I am using a different
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  8. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    wtf :confused:

    Ok, so Zero, since I got some info, what's the prob with the screen? I can't tell from the pic.
     
  9. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    The pic of my screen that I just posted or yours?
    That pic was taken from a crappy digital camera in low light.
    Picture quality is so much better than what is shown.

    *edit* that pic was taken when i first got it. It didn't have that problem then. It developed it about 8 months after I got it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  10. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    Here is a pic that I just took to show you an example.
    It isn't burn in, because I left webpage up and/or a static menu on a dvd for awhile and no burn in.
    You can only see in on webpages that have a dark bkgd or in movies where it has a dark bkgd.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    I'm also running mine at 1280 x 1024 which isn't shown in the first pic I posted. That was when I first hooked it up.
     
  12. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Ummm two people with different issues in one thread . . .
     
  13. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Zero, I've never seen anything like that on an lcd screen. I'm fairly certain it's a problem with the lcd, not the input.
     
  14. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    which is why I will never buy an Olevia again.
     
  15. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Rptv Ftw!! :d
     
  16. BlueFlag

    BlueFlag Guest

    ................... .. ... /´ /)
    .................... ..,../¯ ..//
    .................... ..../... ./ /
    .................... ..,/¯ ..//
    .................... ./... ./ /
    ............./´¯/' ...'/´¯`•¸
    ........../'/.../... ./... ..../¨¯\
    ........('(...´(... ....... ,~/'...')
    .........\.......... ..... ..\/..../
    ..........''...\.... ..... . _.•´
    ............\....... ..... ..(
     
  17. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    Panny or Pioneer Elite plasma FTMFW!!!
     

Share This Page