GUN I ccw'd for the first time today and don't like my paddle holster, holster for ccw?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by thomor25, Apr 18, 2007.

1. thomor25

thomor25 I make money online....

I'm a big guy at 310 tho I don't look it cause I carry it well but I was using my paddle holster i got with my gun and picked up my permit and carried today for the first time to the store to get some litter and shit for the kittahs.

I had it on my left hip and when I sat down in the car the hard paddle part was pushing againt my thigh. So i went into the bathroom at the store and switched it to my right side ( i'm right handed by the way) and it started hanging kinda low but I got used to it. So i got my stuff and went to the car and when i sat in the car the grip was sitting directly on my seatbelt thing that you stick the seatbelt into.

Those of you that are bigger what do you reccomend for a ccw holster? I have a 1911 combat commander.

2. Thunderbear

Thunderbear Yggdrasil's Forester.

Two things. Quality holster and paddle don't usually go in the same sentence, albeit with few exceptions. If the plastic paddle isn't following your body's contours, I'd look into a leather one, such as the Corporal Punishment from Blue Line Leather. Leather is far more accomodating than plastic.

Secondly, a good belt makes a HELL of a difference, especially with something like a heavy steel 1911.

Aker B21 is the best value, but something from the Beltman, Sparks, or any other quality belt will make a lot of difference.

Finding the right holster is like finding the Grail, it's a lifelong search for a lot of people.

Edit: While you're here, can you tell me what the hell is growing on my live plants?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  3. thomor25

thomor25 I make money online....

4. Thunderbear

Thunderbear Yggdrasil's Forester.

Dammit.

Smartcarry is for DEEP concealment, as in, if someone had a whiff of you carrying, it's a major deal type of carry.