I cant resolve a name from IP or vice versa with XP?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by qbushido, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. qbushido

    qbushido New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I am obviously no networking guru BUT I used to be able to use the good old ping -a to resolve a computer name via IP or vice versa. Since I have upgraded to XP pro I can no longer use this feature. Am I doing something wrong or did MSFT take this away?
     
  2. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    It resolves in XP;

    C:\DOCUME~1\SYSADMIN>ping yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [66.218.71.198] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=246
    Ping statistics for 66.218.71.198:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 94ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 94ms

    C:\DOCUME~1\SYSADMIN>ping -a 66.218.71.198
    Pinging w1.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.71.198] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=246
    Reply from 66.218.71.198: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=246
    Ping statistics for 66.218.71.198:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 91ms, Maximum = 94ms, Average = 92ms
     
  3. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,200
    Likes Received:
    510
    you can also use nslookup:

    nslookup server.blah.net
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The reason you are getting seperate results for the two is because w1.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com is the servers true name while yahoo.com is just an alias to it.

    It does the same thing for me with my server because it is known as wes.homelinux.com, but actauly has a domain name issued by my school:
    C:\>ping wes.homelinux.com
    Pinging wes.homelinux.com [35.11.218.45] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 35.11.218.45: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    C:\>ping -a 35.11.218.45
    Pinging keenaro1-2.user.msu.edu [35.11.218.45] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 35.11.218.45: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
     
  5. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    OK? I was just put the hostname in bold to emphasize that ping -a does in fact do reverse look up.

    Sorry for the misunderstanding, I guess.
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    OK, so I have no idea what your question is. :p
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    He didn't ask the question.

    Anyway, I don't know why it wouldn't work in XP, it's there, I've used it, works fine. What isn't working properly? It's not resolving names? Can you surf the internet ok though?
     
  8. arista5

    arista5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, NY
    QBUSHIDO is speaking in a LOCAL DOMAIN setting he is trying to resolve a local machine name from its IP address
     
  9. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    Edit your HOSTS file, it's in your WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc

    It would look something like this:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    192.168.1.34 vice
    192.168.1.33 thunder

    C:\Documents and Settings\sysadmin>ping -a 192.168.1.34
    Pinging vice [192.168.1.34] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.34:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
     
  10. DittoAlex

    DittoAlex New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    53,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I thought it resolved it using your DNS server, not your hosts file?

    Edit: Holy bump, Batman.
     
  11. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Yeah wtf.


    Windows checks yours hosts file before doing a NS query.
     
  12. DittoAlex

    DittoAlex New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    53,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    :bigthumb:

    Makes perfect sense.
     

Share This Page