I can't get a laptop to connect to the internet and I'm running out of ideas. v.:wtc:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by alex, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    My friend brings me a laptop that can't connect to the internet. He needs wireless connection.

    So, I open Firefox and sure enough "Can't find the server". I turn on the wireless toggle and successfully connect to my WPA wireless router. (Which I know works because I'm typing from it right now on another computer) Still can't get on the internet.

    I also opened up Command Prompt and typed 'ping google.com' and it instantly states "ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again".

    The wireless card is a Broadcom, the laptop is Gateway M675PRR and I've already tried updating the network drivers on it. I'm stumped.
     
  2. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    Oh, and when I try typing in "ipconfig /all" I get this...

    ...and "ping 127.0.0.1" gets

     
  3. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Reinstall the TCP stack

    Reinstall the NIC drivers

    In the future; Stop "pinging google.com" and "ping 4.2.2.2" so we know DNS isn't involved. Better yet, ping the routers IP first, then ping 4.2.2.2

    Make sure no services related to the internet are disabled/manual under services.msc
     
  4. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    i'm doing some googling and i hope you can cofirm this for me.

    to reinstall the TCP stack, i run the "netsh int ip reset [log file]" command?

    ...and the NIC drivers are reinstalled by downloading and running the latest drivers for the wireless card

    and i tried typing "manual.msc" into Start->Run and it cannot find
     
  5. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY

    both pings, my router and 4.2.2.2 both say "unable to contact ip driver, error code 2"
     
  6. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    yes to netsh reset

    the [log file] is where it's going to pipe the netsh ouput to, not an already created log. you might have to create a text file and pipe it to that, i dont remember if it will create its own

    and it's "services.msc" not manual.msc
     
  7. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    this was for the future, when your troubleshooting networking with a supposedly working tcp stack
     
  8. alex

    alex My neighbor got the gas chamber awhile back for do Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    24,383
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    yeah, it creates its own logfile. ran services didn't see any important internet services set to "disabled" or "manual". Netowrk connections was set to Manual though, changed it to automatic.

    ...and will reinstalling the broadcom wireless card drivers fix the NIC issue

    (and :o to "manual.msc" :hsugh:)

    thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page