I are confused v. RAM vs FSB

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sj23, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I'm looking at a Core2Duo with a 1066Mhz FSB and no overclocking. Should I be looking for DDR2 1066 or DDR2 533? :hsd:
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Check your motherboard specs and use the fastest RAM that it supports - most likely 1066.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Match the FSB speed if you can, or get an even multiple of it otherwise.
     
  4. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I ask because my current P4 800FSB uses DDR400 and get thrown off with the dual cores. I'm thinking it's as simple as dividing the FSB in half and using DDR2 533 so that they run 1066 in dual channel or if dual cores throws that formula off.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    They still run in 533, you've just increased the bandwidth from 64 to 128bit. I'm not sure why you don't want to use 1066...
     
  6. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Mainly cost. I don't want to overkill and get 1066 when 533 would've been enough for everyday use.
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Then yes, stick with the 533. Again, double check your mobo specs before doing anything though.
     
  10. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Will do. Thanks for the replies.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    My general rule is: buy 1/4 of the ram that the motherboard can hold, in the fastest speed and the smallest number of sticks, then in a year buy another 1/4 to make half as much as the motherboard can hold, then in another year buy another half to max out the motherboard. Best compromise between getting the best product you can use, not having to throw away perfectly usable ram when you upgrade, and not wasting money on extra hardware that your software won't be able to use for the next few years.
     

Share This Page