I am upgrading my motherboard, video card, processor, and RAM...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PC Principle, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should be in on Monday or Tuesday...

    Chaintech VNF4/Ultra 939 socket w/ PCI-E
    AMD 64 3000+ Winchester core 939 socket
    MSI 6600GT PCI-E Video card
    Coursair Value select 512x2 RAM.

    My current setup is a Pentium-based system.

    Will I have to format my current Hard drive? I really dont want to but I will if I must. Anyway to make this work without formatting it? Thank you in advance.
     
  2. mr.mister

    mr.mister Guest

    it's preatty hard to use the harddrive you have now without formatting it

    unless you're l33t enouGh to successfully do it
     
  3. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully I am. :eek3d:

    I am planning to back up a lot of stuff on CDRs anyways... just in case.

    My plan is to remove all the devices from hardware profiles that I am switching and then swapping out the parts.
     
  4. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup I ordered a winchester core. How can I make sure it is a winchester core?
     
  5. Fee

    Fee Boba Fett Likes the Nips

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    if you going get a whole new system you might has well get a SATA HD to go with your new system, you old hd might hold you new computer back. you can still use your old hard drive for data in your new pc. but i use a new SATA to hold games and windows, just make it the main hd the pc boots with
     
  6. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may do that. But having to reinstall all my stuff plus updating HL2 online with dial-up can take forever. :wtc:
     
  7. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which hard-drive would you reccomend? Something sub 60$
     
  8. Fee

    Fee Boba Fett Likes the Nips

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
  9. Fee

    Fee Boba Fett Likes the Nips

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    Serial ATA II can do 300mb/sec
    IDE ATA 133 can only do 133 MB/sec.

    you be able to tell a differnce
     
  10. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Fee

    Fee Boba Fett Likes the Nips

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    yea and windows boot times
     
  12. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool:

    Since I already ordered my other stuff I might just put it together with the old HD and see what happens. If its slow I will get that HD then.
     
  13. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    Hells yeah! Awesome board! You just have to upgrade the chipset cooler, or you can easily burn the thing out when you OC.

    It's a very fast, stable, board.
     
  14. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool:

    But if I heard correctly I think the latest version Chaintech came out with upgraded it and now has better fan on the board already. I hope so :x:
     
  15. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    :werd: the ATA133 bus isn't even used fully yet.
     
  16. adam17

    adam17 now im gonna sing the doom song! doom doom doom do

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    n ur gf's bed
    no need to reformat, just throw the XP disk in the drive, boot to it and just do a repair install. it worked for me
     
  17. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,475
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    and :werd: to that
     
  18. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the parts in yesterday. Everything went perfectly but I reformatted anyway. Half-Life 2 never looked so good :bowdown:
     
  19. marauder

    marauder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edit are I see Im too late :sadwavey: good luck with the new rig :)



    Haven’t read the other posts, Do a clean install of the O/S
    Chaintech VNF4/Ultra 939 socket w/ PCI-E maybe ok but I would not buy it issues with them working for a few weeks then there dead and being RMAd etc etc. Look at a Asus or a DFI mobo.
     

Share This Page