I am going to try migrating to linux.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by karma, Nov 28, 2004.

1. karma

karma you reap what you sow

I have downloaded Suse 9.1 personal; Mandrake 10.1; and Fedora Core 3. Do all of these distros have the ability to automatically make a separate partition so that I can install on the same hard drive as Windows XP?

I have no linux experience what-so-ever, which is easiest to start with?

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

do you have free space on your drive (not occupied by an existing partition) if so, then they will all work (I recommend FC3).

However, if you do not have space on your drive not taken by another partition, you'll need either another drive, or a partition resizing utility, such as partition magic.

3. karma

Ahhh... I do not have a partition not being used. But I do have Acronis True Image 8.0, which I believe I can create a new partition with. So I need to do that first with any of the distros?

4. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

i'm not sure about the other distro's, but suse can resize partitions i believe. Just boot it up and it will tell you what it will try to do before it actually does it. Give it a shot.

5. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

Suse cannot resize NTFS.

6. Rob

Rob OT Supporter

Oct 15, 2003 SUSE Linux 9.0 is able to resize NTFS partitions during installation. For this purpose YaST (Yet another Setup Tool) uses ntfsresize.

http://mlf.linux.rulez.org/mlf/ezaz/ntfsresize.html

:dunno:

7. Penguin Man

Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

Yes it can. We did it on like half the machines we installed at our last installfest.