I am calling upon the power of 04!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Feb 20, 2005.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Let me tell you what I'm doing here.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/im...0/104-6055003-2725542?_encoding=UTF8&n=172282

    (by the way I just bought these)

    Ok, now onto the project.

    I'm putting a playstation 2 and a display screen in my car. The problem is that I don't know where to plug these things in. So obviously the problem is power. Is there some type of adapter I could use to plug them into an amp?

    Lets start with that question and work from there.

    thanks
     
  2. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    043i945203894572309485720938475kaspfasjefopiasjdf;laskdjf;asldkfja;lsdjf you better get your ass in here pronto. :squint: :slap: :slap:
     
  3. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    The PS2 either accepts 120v AC power, or it has an external AC/DC adapter....I don't know which, as I don't know one. If it's the former, you need an "inverter", also known as a Switching Mode Power Supply. It will chagne the 12V dc in your car to 120V AC, to simulate indoor power sockets.

    If it has an external AC/DC adapter (power brick), find out what the DC power output and current sourcing capability is (it will be listed on the sticker) and find a car power adapter that can match those specs, or still use the SMPS and still use the AC/DC adapter.

    About the screen...how does it get power? AC from the wall? AC/DC converter? from the PS2?

    -Z
     
  4. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I'm going to have to come back to this thread after I have the hardware in my hands.

    wait for update
     
  5. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    The ps2 accepts straight 120v AC power and has the transformer inside the unit. So, like you said, he'll need an inverter. He also needs to look up the specs on the back of the unit to make sure he gets an inverter capable of supplying enough wattage.
     
  6. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    The wattage isn't important, as the voltage is a constant 120. Just look for current. Make sure whatever SMPS you get can source enough current for the PS2 AND the screen, if that's how it gets its power.

    -Z
     
  7. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,469
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Why not get a real indash flipout screen? Then you just plug the PS2 into one of the video Aux inputs and go.
     
  8. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Umm, P=IV? I know that it is 120. And it isn't a constant 120V, it is a 60Hz 120V RMS and about 170V peak. Regardless of whether you look at it as current or power delivery, it's the same in this case. Obviously we can rearrange to produce I=P/V lol.
     
  9. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    Because the PS2 isn't going to do anything without any power source.

    -Z
     
  10. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    I know that, of course. But wattage is rarely listed on non-audio consumer electronic devices or supplies, hence reccomending he look for current. Don't worry, I have good reason for saying the things I do...

    -Z
     
  11. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    a good way to get the attention of a Mod and an OG, is order them to help you out.
     
  12. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Alright (and I knew you would), the thing is that I knew what you had to say as well, I was just stating it in a different way. I've seen wattage specified on non-audio products, but not a big deal. It only seemed that you didn't think I realized that current is the important thing since there is a defined 120 volt source. We are practically arguing semantics, but electronics semantics.
     
  13. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    Yay for pointless arguments! We're both smart, end of story.

    I'm smarter....tee hee hee.
     
  14. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,469
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    I think the thread had progressed past that part once someone mentioned using an inverter. But you were still wondering how he wanted to hook up the screen and I mentioned why not do it the logical way and get a screen made for auto use.
     
  15. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    Ah, I gotchya. If he's go the inverter though, with enough current capabilty, why not replace the windshield with a 43" plasma? That'd be baller.

    -Z
     
  16. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I know 04 from old school, but your right in any sense. I apologize 04. Hope I didn't hurt your feelings. :hsd:

    Ok, now; anyway, I need a pick of this converter so I know I'm buying the right one. Will someone post a pic please?
    Thanks
    -mycophiles
     
  17. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I did buy a screen for auto use. I just don't have the hardware here to look at. Hell boys. The screen might get power from where I'm planning to hook it up which is from the aux source of the headunit. If I'm right the HU has 2 aux sources and I could use the 2nd to plug the playstation into, but I don't think the playstation has that type of a plug. I'll have to use the inverter to a 12v cigareette lighter I think.
     
  18. Zemo

    Zemo n00b of the year

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
  19. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,469
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Something like this lol?

    http://www.xr250rdr.com/CES/Sat/images/IMG_0608.jpg
     
  20. 04

    04 Guest

    :rofl: No you didnt hurt my feelings.

    I figure you got the question you asked answered? If not what else do you need to know?
     
  21. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Nope, I'm all set.
     

Share This Page