Huge DVR file size

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gimik, Dec 9, 2005.

  1. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    When I record shows with XP Media Center, the files are HUGE. A half hour show is 1.3GB or so. Is that normal? Is there a standard way to shrink these files?

    What do you guys do?
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes, it's normal.

    You can:

    1. decrease recording size by decreasing quality on recorder settings.
    2. convert the dvr-ms file to other video formats (I use Nero Vision to cut commercials and other unwanted stuff, then Digital Media Converter)
    3. buy a large hd
     
  3. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be happy you are not recording HD programming. The 80 GB harddrive in my cable DVR box can only record about 9 hours of high-def programming if the hard drive is empty. Plus, my cable company won't allow people to use an external hard drive to expand the storage space. :mad:
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    can you not just replace the existing drive with a larger 250 or 300gb drive? All you should need to do is run norton ghost to copy the file system from the existing drive to the new one.
     
  5. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    The DVR is leased from the cable company. :hsugh: If I make any modification to the box, the will most certainly find out. That can lead to loss of service. So, no bigger drive for me. :wtc:
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i have 421 hours of basic space on my tivo.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, the box can probably tell the cable company what the model number of the HDD is. Next time, buy your own unit.
     
  8. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    I have a Cox DVR that allows me to add an external drive, but I cant figure out how to get the vid files off of the damn thing. It's a HD DVR though. I have about 20 hours of stuff on it and it's about half full (including HD stuff).
     
  9. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tell me where I can purchase reasonably priced HD DVR and I will consider buying one. If it doesn't do HD, it does me no good. Also, if it doesn't do digital cable, it does me no good.
     
  10. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am still waiting on your recommendation for a DVR box of my own I could buy that is reasonable priced and records HD and digital cable. Or do you see that renting the box from my cable company is my only option at this time?
     

Share This Page