Hub Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sablehonda, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. sablehonda

    sablehonda New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    If two systems are connected to a hub (just a hub, not a switch) and are uplinked to the Internet through the hub, can they see each other's traffic?

    If so, are there programs available to see this traffic?
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yup. A hub simply rebroadcasts all the traffic to all the ports. And only the one that it is destined for is supposed to pay attention to it.

    But by putting the card in promiscous mode it can be forced to RX all the packets even the ones not destined for it.

    If there is a lot of data moving it can be a little work to put all the data back together, but none the less it is not impossible.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You're talking tons of traffic!!

    Get a switch. They're damn cheap.
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    On a side note we did this durring my job over the summer. We were curious as to whether our Novell logins were infact encrypted. We setup a test machine in the lab and setup a Management port on our 3com switch to copy all traffic to the machine to our packet sniffer ( pentium 133 laptop with linux and etherreal). Fascinating stuff. :big grin:
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Results?
     

Share This Page