HTTP 500 Internal Server Error ???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by YourMomOnRyeBun, Jul 29, 2007.

  1. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    bg

    Running:
    Vista (ugh!) with IIS 7.0 installed
    Dreamweaver CS3
    Access 2007

    I am in the process of teaching myself Dreamweaver and making dynamic web pages. Using "Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 UNLEASHED" as a reference book.

    Following the instructions in the book I setup my computer as the test server. html pages work fine. Then I tried a simple .asp page and that worked fine. But when I tried to "Preview in Browser" a more complex (example from book) dynamic .asp page I get this error

    HTTP 500 Internal Server Error

    I turned off the "friend error messages" and now I get this error

    An error occurred on the server when processing the URL. Please contact the system administrator

    Any ideas? I have searched all over the place and I have found little support in knowledge bases and FAQ's because most are geared towards older versions of windows or server versions and older versions of IIS.

    Is this most likely a configuration issue? Permission issue?

    Like I said, I am LEARNING this stuff, so at this point I am even struggling to ask this question properly. Really stuck on this one. I am so clueless as to what the problem could be that I don't even know how to ask the question properly. :o
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    learning should NEVER include anything by macromedia.
     
  3. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Why? What's wrong with Macromedia? It might not be the best...but there is certainly a lot of support out there for Dreamweaver.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's not even close to the best. It also breaks web standards left and right. It is a HORRIBLE platform to learn on. If you learn and a job requires you use it, then that's a necessary evil. However, notice that schools teaching programming do NOT generally teach the IDE -- they teach good clean code! You need to LEARN THE LANGUAGE and how it interacts, and how individual changes will affect behavior. Dreamweaver is a hinderance.
     
  5. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    What program would you suggest then? I already have the basic foundation of basic html coding on static pages. Dreamweaver saves a lot of time and then I can go back in the code to do any tweaks I need.

    The world of dynamic pages is what I am trying to learn now. Not for a class, so my options are pretty open.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Visual SlickEdit or Edit Pad Pro

    if you want something with more power, there's Bluefish (linux) or Zend Studio. There are some extensions for Eclipse but I hate em.
     
  7. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Interesting...

    Well, I don't think my issue is with Dreamweaver...so I am still looking for help. I think my IIS is not configured correctly.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what code are you writing? PHP? Did you install the cgi/isapi and did you test it?
     
  9. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    I was using .asp

    The first "lesson" in the book was to write the code for a page (.asp) that just displays the current date/time, then preview the page in the browser to make sure it works. It did.

    Then you move on and link it to a database to display product information from the database. Eventually you create an online shopping cart. Anyway, along the way as I setup the database and dsn connection, you can test the connection. I did this at each step and it checked out. When I try to preview the page, I get the "HTTP 500" error. I even tried a dsn-less connection and I still get the same error.

    My "site" is located in the
    c:\inetpub\wwwroot\.... directory, which was the default, so I just used that.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    so the simple test works, but not the db one?
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    turn off simple error messages (if using msie)

    check the system event log.
     
  12. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Correct.
     
  13. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(

    When I turn off the "friend error message" this is all I get

    An error occurred on the server when processing the URL. Please contact the system administrator
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you need to check the system log.
     
  15. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Opened the "Event Viewer" is that what you meant by system event log? What should I look for?
     
  16. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    I see the log for Windows and IE...it lists events, but nothing that relates to the page failing to load.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    should be some iis logs in the system category.
     
  18. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Unless I am looking in the complete wrong location, I don't see anything for IIS logs... weird. Events are being logged, but no IIS
     
  19. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    Now I get this error...




    Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Driverserror '80004005'
    [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Disk or network error. /dorknozzleasp/employeestore.asp, line 9


    Gradually getting more info, hopefully closer to a solution.

    "Dorknozzle" is the name of the ficticious e-store used in the book example.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  21. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you seriously expect us to debug your application for you, and you haven't even TRIED doing it yourself yet? You need to look at the error, then inspect the code. If you can't do that, then you can't program. Period. Find error. If not understand, google error.
     
  22. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(
    My first problem was that I couldn't get the actual error to display...so my problem was, finding out WHAT the problem was.

    Next, through all the online research that I have done, contrary to your belief, has gotten me no where other than to discover that this is a common headache for many people using the Vista / ISS 7 / Access combo.

    I posted this hoping to find someone else who is having this issue...

    Inspecting the code is not the issue. The code is fine. The code came with the tutorial...and works on other machines. I am trying to figure out what is wrong with my configuration.
     
  23. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(

    Yeah, I tried this a few days ago. Thanks for the link though.

    It seems that this issue is specific to the Vista/ISS 7 combo. People have had similar error messages in the past and the knowledge bases are full of helpful info for those issues, but this one, for a reason that I will only know once I have fixed it, is slightly different.

    I have been doing google searchs for pages updated within the last year to hopefully weed out the older posts...

    I'll keep picking away at the issue.
     
  24. YourMomOnRyeBun

    YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barry's turf... :-(

Share This Page