A&P HS Basketball, 5DII, 12800 ISO

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by adamlewis88, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    So I had a last minute assignment to go cover the championship game of the Louisville Invitational. The venue was the gym of a local private college (Expensive private college....) but the light was literally the worst Ive ever seen. As soon as I walked through the front door/ticket area, I could see that the entrance way to get to floor was even darker.

    Ive never even shot in HS gyms with light this bad.

    12,800 ISO, 1/500, f/2.8

    Photos arent anything great. It was very last minute and I had nowhere to sit on the floor. Everything was shot standing. Pictures are shit but its all the paper wanted.

    Im mainly posting just to show what 12,800 and shitty light looks like on a 5DII.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    impressive.
     
  3. Perkwunos

    Perkwunos Dog Bones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    Thats allot of grain, why such high ISO? Atleast it does not band, which is cool...
     
  4. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Did you read the beginning? The light was awful. I had to stop action. I didnt have anything faster than 2.8 with me and I didnt have a flash with me either. Only way I could get shutter speed in those conditions is to raise the ISO.
     
  5. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Damn, that sucks, dude. I stop at 6400 on my D700, I dont like going in to the HI settings but I guess you gotta do what you gotta do.
     
  6. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    would the action stop with shutter speed slower than 1/500?
     
  7. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yeah. I dont enjoy going into the expanded ISOs but I will if I have to. I wish it had 1/3 stops up to 12,800 like the D3/700 does.

    Not really. 1/500 is already pushing it for some things. It depends a lot on what you are shooting and who is playing. Personally, I always try to stay above 1/640 but when the light is as shitty as it was here, Ill sacrifice the 1/3 stop on my shutter to gain 1/3 stop on the exposure.
     
  8. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like 1600 on my 40d.
     
  9. 1.8

    1.8 Guest

    Impressive
     
  10. Perkwunos

    Perkwunos Dog Bones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    No, i did not :(

    The mk II is still pretty fucking baler at that ISO
     
  11. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    looks like 1600 or maybe even 3200 on my 30D
     
  12. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    I thought you weren't gonna buy the 5dII? When did I miss this?

    No complaints for what it is, considering before these cameras we couldn't even understand what iso 12800 fucking meant....
     
  13. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Well...I decided you only live once. And I did sell the MkIII to get it. If I didnt have it, I would have only had one camera. I really like having two and it makes it a lot easier when my fiance and I go on vacation.

    Yep. Its not super clean but its more than ok for newsprint and will do ok in media.
     
  14. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you run any noise remover software on these or are they straight from the camera?

    have you tried to run noise ninja and see how clean you can get them? I'd be interested to see the results.
     
  15. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA

    NR was applies but it was just the default reduction that LR applies during conversion. Ive heard that DPP does a better job converting than LR does so I may try that later tonight. Ill also give it a go through noise ninja and see what happens.

    I personally try to stay away from NR since it leaves things looking a little plasticky. I personally prefer some grain over a completely noise-free plastic image.

    Ill do it tonight though just so you guys can see :wiggle:
     
  16. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Bring Da Noise!
     
  17. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    certainly good enough to sell prints to high school moms though :cool:

    I'm likely shooting some dance in a HS gym this weekend. Gonna have to crank dat ISO uppppppp
     
  18. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    hmmm i wanna 5dmkii to replace my 5d...
     
  19. Datass

    Datass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    i think it's better than 1600 on the 30d, definitely way better than the 30d's 3200.

    pretty impressive. just run NN and ur straight.
     
  20. Datass

    Datass New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    .
     
  21. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those look great. A slight NN application and sized for print and they'll look like you had great conditions.
     
  22. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Ok. As promised. Same pictures but converted through DPP. Then the same DPP converted JPG with NN applied.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  23. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    cleaned em up pretty well
     
  24. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    unless this is normal, it looks like it has minimal banding...
    [​IMG]
     
  25. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see what you mean by looking like plastic on some of them. I'm guessing there is a level that you can adjust in NN never used it though I have used Neat Image.
     

Share This Page