HP power supply not connecting to laptop

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Spiritus, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. Spiritus

    Spiritus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    19,344
    Likes Received:
    12
    HP ac adapter not connecting to laptop

    The connection from my ac adapter to HP laptop is very poor. It will only connect if I twist it around and push it in, and as soon as I stop applying pressure it loses it.

    This went from bad to worse over time. It used to just be a little shakey. Now it's like this. It could be dust cause it seemed to improve a little after a lot of blowing into it.

    [​IMG]
    ^ pic of actual supply. metal round thing won't make reliable connection to laptop.

    another link: http://store.greenlaptop.com/ac203x51h76.html

    Fuck. So what do I do? Anyone have this shit happen before?
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  2. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    you can take it to a trusted computing store, or even an HP place and have them solder in a new receptacle for the power supply for ~$100. Expensive, but a lot less than a new laptop.
     
  3. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,576
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Southern California
    I had it happen to my HP laptop like 6 months ago...I contacted HP through there online chat with a technician:

    http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/contact/chat_1.html

    The guy asked me for the replace with part number and he overnighted the new power supply free of charge!

    Good luck.
     
  4. Spiritus

    Spiritus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    19,344
    Likes Received:
    12
    through my own research i found that HP laptops seem to have a design flaw and this happens a lot.

    i am currently attempting to take the laptop apart myself and solder it back on.

    Zourn, apparently the receptical itself is not the problem. it's fine but a design flaw requires that occasionally you have to solder the wires back on. i don't have the cash right now to have someone else do it. thanks though, if I did not know this was the problem that information would have saved me a LOT of trouble.

    and abbey thanks for that link. i'll have a chat with the support people.
     
  5. monolith

    monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    32,576
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Southern California
    Good luck, let us know how it turns out.
     

Share This Page