How's this for my new system?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deadW8, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 2.8GHz w/800MHz FSB
    Sound Card Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 (D) Card with Dolby® Digital 5.1 capability
    512MB Dual Channel 400Mhz DDR SDRAM
    15 in (15.0 in viewable) E151FP Flat Panel Display
    Hard Drive 40GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive (7200 RPM)
    Integrated Intel® PRO 10/100 Ethernet
    16x DVD-ROM Drive + 48x CD-RW Drive
    Video Card New 128MB DDR ATI RADEON™ 9800 Pro Graphics Card with TV-Out and DVI


    I'll be swapping out the 40gb hdd with my 120 gb WD SE drive in my current system. And I have a 8x DVD +/- R/RW drive to add to the system.

    Dunno if I want to keep the LCD screen yet or not...I may sell it.
     
  2. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    Sounds good! :bigok:
     
  3. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    SantorinA4: :big grin: Thanks!

    I was starting to get worried...(thought people were gonna say it sucks) since no one was responding.
     
  4. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    :) Will you be overclocking soon? I built my third one last month and plan on overclocking it when I have time. It's mainly a gaming computer.
     
  5. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    You'll want a bigger display than that...
     
  6. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    Yeah your screen is a little small but your over setup still seems good to me.
     
  7. plat

    plat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    shoulda waited till feb 2nd, intel price cuts :hs:

    other then that :bigthumb:
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: 15 inches is tiny, I'd at least go 17, preferably 19.
     
  9. Is this a Dell (or equivalent)?

    The only attractive component is the Radeon 9800P and 2.8c processor. Deduct as much as you can, like for instance, get onboard sound which is indistinguishable from the Live 5.1, hell, even my onboard ac97 codec rivals my Audigy2 card.

    Get 128MB, then upgrade it yourself. Ditch the monitor as well, or get something like a 19" because Dell atleast prices them competitively with their retail chain/OEM vendor counterparts.
     
  10. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Yup, it's a Dell...I know, I know, build it yourself, but this was cheaper. Everything except the ATI 9800 Pro was the minimum. :big grin: Everything is pretty much the min, even the optical dual drive. :big grin: The 512mb was free! And it's DDR400mhz not 266/333mhz. I plan on getting rid of the 15" LCD at work or fleabay for $350 - 375. I'll prolly get a 19" crt aperture grill monitor and pocket the change.

    Total price including tax was $1001.06 <--If I sell my LCD for 350, I'll have gotten the system for only $651.06! :x:

    As for oc'ing this thing, I've read that most Dell's don't overclock too well, but there have been some people that have succeeded in overclocking this system.

    I'm gonna research it more and see if I can oc to 3.2ghz :x: Otherwise, maybe I can (someone can correct/help me out) swap out the mobo for maybe an Asus "P4C800-E DELUXE" and oc? :dunno:

    But I don't know if I want to overclock right away...I may wait a couple of months before I really try to do it. ;)
     
  11. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Much better than my current system which I've been on for 4/5 years now.

    I'm stepping up from this:

    E-machines eMonster 500

    Microsoft® Windows® 98 Second Edition
    Intel® Pentium® III 500MHz (w/512KB L2 Cache) Slot 1 CPU
    64MB SyncDRAM (up to 256 MB)
    2 USB Ports (1 is on Front)
    1 Serial / 1 Parallel / 3 Expansion Slot
    Audio In & Out / Game Port on Front
    AOL 3 month membership included, click here for details
    eMachines Network Internet Service
    3dfx 2X AGP Voodoo3™ 2000 with 16MB SDRAM
    Crystal CS4280 3D PCI Audio
    8x Max. DVD-ROM Drive with Software Decoder
    13GB HDD (Ultra DMA EIDE)
    3.5" 1.44MB FDD
    56K* ITU V.90 PCI Fax/Modem
    PS/2 Internet Keyboard/Mouse
    Stereo Speakers

    Can't wait till my dsl package gets here next week so I can get off of 56k too. :coold:
     
  12. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Sounds a lot like my upgrade this past summer, went from a PIII with 128MB of RAM to an Athlon 2500+ with 512 (now up to a gig).
     
  13. deadW8

    deadW8 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    costa mesa, ca, usa
    Yeah, it must feel great...can't wait till I actually get my system. :wiggle:
     

Share This Page