WEB how would you design a database for poll data?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by White Stormy, Feb 11, 2010.

1. White Stormy

White Stormy Take that, subspace!

I'm a database noob, but this is what I think..

Assuming that some polls will have a different number of possible answers than others..

(obviously pseudo code-ish)
    Code:
    [B]Poll Question Table[/B]
    int pollid | date start | date end | string question

[B]Poll Answer Table[/B]
    int pollid | int answertotal | string answer

if users have to be logged in, you don't have to worry about logging IPs, but how would you store which users have answered which polls? something like this?
    Code:
    [B]User Answer Table[/B]
    int pollid | int userid

And if you wanted to just log IPs.. that would be pretty much the same?
    Code:
    [B]IP Answer Table[/B]
    int pollid | int ip

If you only had one poll open at a time, would you need something more in that table than just one column of userid/IP? No need to store pollid every time on the offchance that poor coding mixes results from multiple polls if it should only be storing results for one poll at a time, right? that would be a lot of extra data for something that would take all of 5 minutes to test before going live.

just trying to learn this stuff. tia

2. brds

brds OT Supporter

This is how i would do it:

Code:
    [B]pollQuestions
    [/B]* pollID (int, auto-increment)
    pollQuestion (varchar(200))

[B]pollTimes[/B]
    *pollID (int)
    starttime(int)
    endtime(int)

[B]pollAnswers[/B]
    *pollID (int)
    pollAnswer(varchar(500))

[B]pollsTaken
    [/B]*pollID (int)
    IP (varchar(14))

If I were you, i wouldn't worry about if the user is logged in or not, i'd worry about their IP. It's pointless to only log one or the other. Also, if you make the start/end times as timestamps, it'll make things much easier in the end. There are also several date -> timestamp functions that can help you out.

3. White Stormy