How use use mp3 player for car instead of a HU?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by johnson, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.ryanspc.com/carmp3

    I dont understand the audio converter and master volume control. Could I just plug the rca wires from my mp3 player into the amp?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :rofl: that's the most ghetto-rigged piece-of-shit-carputer I've ever seen :rofl:
     
  3. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    if i wanted some sort of carputer id just get a small well built laptop, and do like a mount job that a taxi would have, well not sure many taxis have them but the one in Collateral did, and then just run the regular hook ups to the HU on through the inside of the dash. :dunno:
     
  5. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not looking for a carputer. I just want to play music off my Archos MultiMedia 20GB using a 3.5mm to RCA jack, then bring it with my when im not in the car. Thats how I play it with my home receiver. Im asking if I could just plug the RCA jack into the car amp. Just not sure about voltage and stuff.
     
  6. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Do you have an aftermarket head unit? If so, most decent ones have aux input and you can just hook it up to that and let the preamp in the head unit do the work.

    Otherwise... that's a bit iffy connecting directly to the inputs of your amplifier. You would probably have to turn your gains way up which would obviously introduce noise into the system. It should work, but I wouldn't recommend it. Car amps are different than home audio receivers, because the receivers have preamps built into them that are made to accept low-voltage sources like that of an mp3 player.
     
  7. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont have an aftermarket unit but it looks like Ill have to get one.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    fm modulator
     
  9. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :ugh: you asked how to do it... I'm telling you.
     
  11. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    fm modulators suck
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, they do... but on your stock head unit, that may be the only way. Unless your HU can control a cd changer and then you might be able to get a PIE adaptor.
     
  13. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    if your stock unit doesnt support an aux then id say get a new HU, theyre cheap and if u dont like the alternatives such as an FM modulator then thats another reason. :dunno:
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, if he can't get an aux on his stock deck, and he wont use an FM Modulator, then he doesn't have a choice :mamoru:
     
  15. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    precisely! :eek3:
     
  16. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    My stock HU doesnt work at all (shouldve included that info :eek3: ). So the reason I want to do it this way is so I dont have to spend $200 on a deck. Another person recommended a line driver but I couldnt find one with RCA outputs to connect to the EQX or component amp.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2005
  17. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you could always buy my clarion EQ/line-driver off of me. 8V pre-outs with Front/Rear/Sub RCA's, along with *TWO* RCA in's... full graphic EQ, and a volume knob ;)
     
  19. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    if you're going to do it, use the audiocontrol master volume control.
     
  20. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    The MVC is $200. :wtc:
     
  21. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the model? Ill pay you with bandwidth. :o
     
  22. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    any why do i need a volume control?
     

Share This Page