GUN How to win over my family?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 4W4K3, May 6, 2009.

1. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

Well I turn 21 on Sunday, and I've been talking about getting myself a small handgun for concealed carry and range plinking. I'm talking mouse gun, .32ACP or maybe .38.
    I've been telling my girlfriend/now wife this for nearly 2 years. I've mentioned it to my parents and my now in-laws as well.

Every single person in my family, is anti-gun. They all tell me that carrying a gun is asking for trouble. I'm more likely to get shot if I carry a gun. I will go to jail if I get caught with a gun, blah blah blah.

I do plan on completing the Texas CCL course before actually carrying the gun. :rolleyes: duh. But they still believe it to be a bad idea.

Other than screaming at them to "EDUCATE YOURSELF BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR FUCKING MOUTH!"...what is a rational, easy to understand method of introducing gun safety and gun rights to the "sheeple" of my family?
    Any tips from people who have gone through this?

I have had a rifle since I was 18. This is shunned as well. It's only a .22lr haha.

I've offered to take anyone who wants to learn to shoot my little .22lr to the gun range, and so far everyone has refused. Kind of disappointing.
    When I have a kid, boy or girl, gun safety and knowledge will be taught from early on. I hope to reverse this paranoia of guns that has been a trend in my family for many past generations. But first...I have to get me a starter pistol, as I am still learning myself.

2. LancerV

LancerV Something Happened OT Supporter

There is no rational from what ive found. Also wouldn't recommend a mouse gun for a first handgun

3. Rip The Jacker

Rip The Jacker New Member

Put on a ski mask and rob them. Then take the mask off and be like "ah bet you wish you had a gun now, fuckers."

4. Skot281??

Skot281?? New Member