how to stop my computer from connecting to a wireless network?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by reasonable_doubt, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. reasonable_doubt

    reasonable_doubt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this network i'm connected to, but every 5 minutes or so i get disconnected from the network i want to be on, and connected to a network that doesn't even work. So what i was hoping was that there was a way to block my computer from trying to connect to that network
     
  2. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    well you can take the network you dont want out of the preferred networks...then it shouldnt connect to it automatically
     
  3. reasonable_doubt

    reasonable_doubt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've already tried that, but once my preferred network disconnects, the other network somehow appears back on the preferred list.
     
  4. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    disable the wireless card
     
  5. porambo

    porambo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    you could disable, but if you want to use it...
    Don't let windows control it, use the 3rd party drivers/software for it...
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    If you open up the connection properties, click on properties, there should be an advanced button, click that and make sure Automatically connect to non-preferred connections is off.
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Use a better OS. It's silly that Windows decides what you connect to. You should be the one deciding that. I select the name of the network I want from a drop-down list and it connects to that one. If it gets disconnected, I have to tell it to reconnect. Makes way more sense.
     
  8. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ya i want to be able to manually select IF i want to connect to a network or not, everytime i turn my laptop on it connects to my neighbors wireless, its anoying.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Windows lets you do this :rolleyes:
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    But it doesn't do it by default. What a stupid design.
     
  11. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    how
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Windows is designed for the least amount of trouble by the user, thus you will have security issues by default - you can't get around that without making things more complicated.

    As for the person who asked how, read my first post in the thread. Where it lists your perferred connections, there is an advanced button.
     
  13. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    ^What he said. There are plenty of other options besides windows available
     
  14. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    then he should get a mac
     
  15. reasonable_doubt

    reasonable_doubt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    the problem has been fixed, thanks for the help..
     
  16. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you

    great solution :ugh2:
     
  17. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Linux, for regular desktop use, is not more complicated than Windows. If you think otherwise, you have not tried Linux in the past year.
     

Share This Page