How to start programming?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nish81, Aug 10, 2006.

1. nish81

nish81 OT Supporter

I'm interested in learning to program. I've had basic experience with HTML, CSS, Python, (very basic) and had a quick look at PHP, Java and C++. So just wondering, but does anyone have any tips concerning how to 'start' learning? I mean, what language should I start with, etc.
    Two things I dont have are constant internet access and a place to buy/borrow programming books, (i.e. they aren't available where I live).

2. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

The best first step, I've discovered, is to have something that you need the computer to do for you. It can be very hard to force yourself to organize your thoughts and to learn what is, essentially, a different language, just for the hell of it.

If you're diligent about trying to solve every problem you have by writing a program, you'll get to be a good programmer in no time. That said, it's virtually impossible to become a great programmer without formal training.

3. nish81

nish81 OT Supporter

I like the sound of that, but many of the problems I've had with computers to date either involve command prompt, or hardware, or general stuff that doesn't involve programming, just a lot of Google.
    I'm going into grade 10 now, after that I think there's a computer sci course that I can take, so I guess that would come under formal training?
    Just another question, but has anyone taken Computer sci in IB before? (IB = the last two years before uni). Just wondering what it's like.

4. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Get a beginner's C programming book and work your way through it. This will teach you the fundamentals. Perhaps someone else can recommend a good C book?

5. fr00t

fr00t New Member