MIL How to put service on resume

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by fintheman, Apr 8, 2006.

1. fintheman

fintheman I will ebay O/T!

I had about 2 years in and I was released due to the medical shit that went on in the Air Force.

I went through

Basic

Then Tech School

I was in Electronics School for about 3 months
    Then 2E2 School for 5 Months

Went through 10 blocks in 2E2 which dealt with everything IT from setting up domain servers, admin work, subnetting, networking, ATMs...etc., I think I'll try to get a transcript from school for it.

Then for my job (1 year 2 months) I was a SACCS Tech. I monitored network connections / making sure they were active and up / monitoring the firewall / incoming connections, some win2k server admin, helped setup the wireless networks on base and secure them. Also went through advanced soldering classes and all the other good stuff we all have at bases (cpr, training, daily crap, trunk monitor, tool monitor, blah blah)

I am just clueless how to put this in a resume in a simple format.

2. kidhero

kidhero not really a hero, really just a big fat phony

United States Air Force
    Month, Year - Honorably Discharged Month, Year

Short paragraph regarding training with USAF and job capacity

- list of tech skills acquired

That's all you need

3. brackac

brackac Fuck all of this. OT Supporter

:rofl: Maybe if you want a shitty resume. There are multiple things wrong with your advice. For starters you would never mix bullets and paragraphs in a resume. A hybrid format is similar to what you suggested but the sequence is different. My advice is spend the $200 a find a local resume writer. Ask to look at some previous resumes they have written, and ask specifically if they have written resumes for military transitioning to the civilian sector.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2006
  4. kidhero

right, because obviously he should send out a CV and fill it up with how awesome his air force life was. oh, wait he just needs a resume: