How to monitor temps from desktop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by duggy, Aug 15, 2003.

  1. duggy

    duggy NRA/GLOCK/BIKE/LAND CRUISER/IT/OG CREW

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I've heard of MBM5 but it seems as if it is not compatible with my motherboard (Albatron 845PEV PRO).

    I'm really scared of my computer running hot because I just recently put a 9800 pro in it.
     
  2. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    Your video card should have no effect on your CPU temp . . .
     
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,624
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    True, but it might raise the overall temperature of the case, which could slightly raise the CPU temp.
     
  4. duggy

    duggy NRA/GLOCK/BIKE/LAND CRUISER/IT/OG CREW

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Nonetheless, does anybody know of other programs that can and will monitor my temps from the desktop? It does tell me my temps in BIOS but I would like to know what they are during a full load.
     
  5. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
  6. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    He said he couldn't get MBM to work with his mobo . . .
     
  7. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    step 1: buy a non-metalic cooking thermometer (the kind where you stick a probe in a turkey when it's in the oven and it is connected to a display that you leave outside the oven.)

    step 2: tape probe to cpu

    step 3: tape probe display to the side of your monitor

    works with all mobos and OSes :eek3:

    :big grin:
     
  8. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    Did you pick the correct chipset?

    -crontab -e
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :rofl: I was thinking normal rectal-ear-mouth type thermometer stuck in the side of the case, but your solution is far more elegant. If you got one of those wireless indoor/outdoor thermometers you could have two probes and no wires, that would be even better.
     
  10. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  11. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
  12. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    no shit I aint never used it but figured it would use something else/it's own thing... :slap: on me!
     
  13. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    Try Sisoft Sandra . It's what I use for monitoring my temp. It also has a lot of other features to it.
     

Share This Page