How to monitor network bandwith etc.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nucklearknight, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I have a network with about 5 or 6 computers on it. How can I see how much bandwith each one is using. For free.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    not sure of those that can monitor multiple PCs,... afaik, most bandwidth monitor software (definitely the free ones) are standalone, so you have to install them on each machine. just google for free ones

    also,... check your router if it has monitoring tools
    if not,... see if you can use 3rd party firmware like tomato or dd-wrt
    those have monitoring tools
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    a router with dd-wrt will tell you daily/monthly bandwidth usage. you can probably also add functionality to monitor each computer's usage, i haven't found it. i'm also only running ddwrt micro
     
  4. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    I love my DD-WRT on my Linksys. Before my roommate moved out I set his wireless card to default homepage at some animal sex site. We had a good laugh after his girlfriend figured out that it was a joke - not actually a site he frequented.
     
  5. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I have etherreal at home and can monitor with that. I don't really watch the bandwidth usage but what my kids are doing. I would imagine there is a bandwidth monitor in there somewhere ...
     
  6. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  7. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    SNMP/PRTG Network monitor
     
  8. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    I use PFSense but that only really tells you total throughput
     

Share This Page