SRS How to keep motivation steady?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by BwanaKuu, Oct 13, 2008.

1. BwanaKuu

BwanaKuu New Member

I seem to be able to get really motivated for short periods of time and then fizzle out. I'll be doing all my schoolwork, exercising right, eating well, taking the meds for my acne, etc. for a few days or a week or so and then suddenly just lose all motivation and stop everything. It's really starting to affect my grades and I was wondering if there is some way I can keep this motivation going for a longer period of time?

2. I always feel that if you push yourself to just keep doing it every day, dont give yourself slack for "one day"...then after a while you'll start to see the positive results from what you are doing and then just keep on doing it because you will want the results to keep coming.

3. BwanaKuu

BwanaKuu New Member

Sigh, I guess it might just be the change in my environment. I'm a freshman in high school and it's so easy to just be hanging out with people and just completely forget about the work. I used to be able to push myself all the time in HS because there were fewer distractions. Guess I'll just have to adopt work then play instead of play then work. Unfortunately, that's gonna kill my social life as I'll be in the library most of the time. :hs: Plus some days I barely even have time to do anything else but study. I am trying to train for a 5 mile race in March but its just not happening. I ran xc and track in HS and worked hard in those but right now, I just have no more motivation.

Oh well, I guess grades are the most important thing. :hs:

EDIT: I also realized that I don't get satisfaction out of accomplishing anything anymore. I used to feel great satisfaction when I'd get a good grade or finish a hard workout or do anything correctly, but now I don't really feel anything when I do these things. Hell, I've lost interest in most things even the ones I used to love doing. I feel very :hs: all the time.