How to have a local HTML file open a LOCAL SWF file?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Peyomp, Oct 26, 2006.

  1. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am making a CD for marketing purposes that opens index.htm in the autorun.inf and that html page has a flash video in it, which is also on the CD. I can't get it to work.

    I have this HTML:

    PHP:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <
    html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <
    head>
    <
    meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
    <
    title>eMpower Lite Reporting&trade;</title>
    </
    head>

    <
    body><center>
      <
    object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,19,0" width="800" height="600">
        <
    param name="movie" value="web_page_files/flash/eMpower-sound.swf" />
        <
    param name="quality" value="high" />
        <
    embed src="web_page_files/flash/eMpower-sound.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="800" height="600"></embed>
      </
    object>
    <
    p>
    <
    p><a href="eMpower_Lite.mov">Quicktime Video</a></p>
    <
    a href="http://lucision.com/products.htm"><img src="web_page_files/images/skip.png" border="0"></a>
    </
    center>
    </
    body>
    </
    html>
    I've tried variations using file://

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Maybe those should be backslashes ;)
     
  3. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should they be? \\ ? This is actually being tested in OS X atm.
     
  4. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Oh, well on Windows they might need to be backslashes (for IE anyhow) - I presumed you were using Windows 'cause you mentioned autorun.inf (no way does that work in OS X? Does it have a similar autorun feature? (perhaps taking care of the obvious security issue)).

    No point in trying the backslashes on OS X, I dunno what's up.
     
  5. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    I can think of a long-winded solution - package Firefox (or XULRunner, or K-Meleon) on the CD, perhaps with the necessary plugins (you might need to ask for permission to do that).

    Not difficult, but probably more than you wanna do without a push. http://cdbrowserkit.sourceforge.net/
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it by putting it all in the same directory.
     

Share This Page