WEB How to get a good quality POP3 account?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MartyFukstein, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. MartyFukstein

    MartyFukstein OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two websites. The emails I send from the POP3/SMTP servers provided are often sent to the JUNK email inboxes of Yahoo and Hotmail.

    I want to get a new POP3/SMTP server, but don't need web hosting. How do I just get the email service? I'll be using it with Outlook.
     
  2. Ricky

    Ricky █▄ █▄█ █▄ ▀█▄

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    38,767
    Likes Received:
    6
    There are certain characters which are automatically picked up in spam filters. I dont know them off my head, but google it.

    Also, what kind of server is it ? shared ? vps ?

    Maybe your ip range is blacklisted ?
    If so... good luck trying to get it removed... cause it's near impossible.
     
  3. MartyFukstein

    MartyFukstein OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shared server.

    I have a third website. Hosted with the same host (jaguarpc.com). Emails from that server go through just fine, so it isn't my IP.
     
  4. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    check out spf records.. they should help you out.

    since you're on a shared server, that host has probably spammed at one point.. Check out spamaus.org and make sure the IP(s) aren't blacklisted.
     
  5. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.spamhaus.org/

    :o
     
  6. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can set your mail to be handled by another server.

    Contact your host about getting your email for that domain handled thru the server that handles it for non-problematic domains.

    Or just have them look into it for you, they may be able to assist without all that.
     

Share This Page