How To: Downgrade 3Gs from 3.1 to 3.0...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MrEous, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    From everythingicafe...
     
  2. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    ...and this from the Dev Team...
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Nice info. Now they just need to release the new jailbreak. Hope it comes soon.
     
  4. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    i fucking love these guys, if you haven't donated any money to them already i highly suggest doing so because their work and time spent truly is immeasurable.
     
  5. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Yeah I'm not worried about going through those steps for a JB right now. I can wait.
     
  6. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Pwnage Tool 3.1 is now available.
     
  7. DI2009

    DI2009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    50,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US N A
    ANy news as to the reliability of it?
     
  8. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    only works on the iPhone 2G & 3G, can still unlock by building a custom firmware, seems pretty solid to me. i've always loved pwnage tool, never once had a problem with it since using it starting with the 2.x firmwares.
     
  9. DI2009

    DI2009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    50,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US N A
    I had it on my 2G and never had a problem except for random lock ups but I think it had to do more with the apps than the phone.

    I'm installing 3.1 right now, I have never JB'd my 3G...We shall see :hs::hsugh:
     
  10. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're an idiot if you upgraded to 3.1 before it was jailbroken.

    Also, don't update to 3.1 just yet if you want to keep tethering. 3.1 breaks tethering, and I can't find anything that shows there's a workaround.

    I already dl'd pwnage 3.1 and have the custom ispw ready for upgrade, but I'm holding off until there's a tethering fix.
     
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    dumbasses do it every time there is a release and then cry about it :hs:
     
  12. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Upgraded to 3.1 and now I have no service most of the time. Sweet.
     
  13. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    "I accidently upgraded" is always their excuse.

    I go over to modmyi for my iphone news, and everytime they release a new pwnage tool or whatever, they post it WITH instructions how to jailbreak, yet you get all these idiots asking how to do it and asking stupid questions. :ugh2:
     
  14. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    i enjoy being able to expand the root partition size.

    you definitely should have upgraded using the custom firmware build from pwnage tool.

    this man knows what he is talking about
     
  15. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Awesome...is this just a fresh, stock 3.1? Or did you JB it too? Maybe you need to get the stock .ipcc or the MMS .ipcc updated as well?

    The .ipcc is the carrier file and can affect reception...it did for me.
     
  16. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I've read that some people still have Tethering working on 3.1 with the 5.1 ipcc carrier file. Gonna build a custom ipsw right now. I'm at work tethering at the moment, so if all goes well and tethering still works after the upgrade, you'll know here in a few mins. If it breaks tethering, well I'll post that later today.
     
  17. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Fixed the issue. If you have a legit iPhone (AT&T in the US, O2 in the UK, etc) then you need to uncheck the 'Activate Phone' box when creating the custom firmware. Did that and everything is working great now. :bowdown:
     
  18. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Ahh that makes sense. Good info, thanks.
     
  19. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I had updated to 3.1 Jailbroken and 5.1 ipcc carrier file, Tethering was definitely broken. I'm back to 3.0 jailbroken.

    So if you must have/need to tether, don't update to 3.1 until there's a fix. I didn't test to see if MMS was working for me, but I didn't care for it as much as tethering. There were some problems reported with Winterboard crashing, but I think that has been fixed, worked no problem for me.
     
  20. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    no offense but i thought this was common knowledge

    you ever used pwnage tool before?
     
  21. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    I used Pwnage tool before but don't remember 'Activate Phone' being an option.



    .........Maybe it was Quickpwn I'm thinking I used before.
     
  22. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it was, but you always have those people.
     
  23. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    NOTE : You need to have you ECID on file in Cydia for this to work.


    Pointless if you don't have that...

    You can change your host files all day long..
     
  24. mattATX

    mattATX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ATX
    Did just going to 3.1 make your device usable again?
     
  25. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Nope - My device won't even go to 3.1.

    It doesn't do anything now. Turn it on and it's stuck on the iPhone recovery screen.
     

Share This Page