How to disable router's firewall?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by invis, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. invis

    invis drag them down

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC/MA
    I have trouble connecting programs sometimes, like DC++, BitTorrent files, Shareaza and some websites. I think it's because of my router's firewall, or so I've been told.

    My question is, how can I disable it, and is it a good decision? I have the Windows XP default firewall enabled also, if that helps.

    Any help would be much appreciated! :)
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    1: go to routers address (ie: 192.168.1.1 or whatever yours is)
    2: open up said ports (forward them)
    3: ????
    4: profit

    might want to uncheck that windows firewall as well.
     
  3. invis

    invis drag them down

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC/MA
    How would I open up ports?

    Sorry I have no clue about this stuff
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    well if you want to just open them all up depending on what kind of router you have you could prolly just disable everything.

    I do not know what kind of router you have or what ports you need to open. You'll have to figure that out. Usually you can find what ports apps use on google really easy.
     
  5. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    You could also put your computer in the router's DMZ, but then you've completely opened your system up.
     
  6. if it's a linksys, you should download the source, recompile without firewall, and re-burn the router firmware :boink:
     
  7. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It was my understanding that the firewalls on routers keep stuff from comming in, not really going out??

    First things first... Turn off the XP firewall thing. The router will do a fine job keeping everything secure. The router pretty much blocks all traffic into your machine unless you specifically open a port.

    The XP firewall is probably what isn't allowing you out on your programs. Shut that off and give it a go.

    CM.
     

Share This Page