SRS How to deal with stress?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by turbo's little bro, Aug 10, 2006.

1. turbo's little bro

turbo's little bro Active Member

Thing is, I have had serious stomach problems for the past 4 years now, since I graduated high school. Right after I graduated, I lost 50 lbs in a matter of months (from 200 to 150) at which time they checked for colon cancer and other things which I don't have (though I do have diverticuli, which is unheard of at the time). Since then, I have had stomach pains quite frequently (usually 2-3 times a day), and occasionaly it get so bad I cannot focus on anything, get really sweaty, and just writhe in pain for about 30 min. since I went away to college, I have gone into the hospital once for vomiting randomly for 6 hours straight (no alcohol involved, or infection), and I almost went into the hospital on monday and this morning because I was in such pain I was having trouble breathing.

Problem is, every doctor I talk to can't find anything wrong with me, and attributes it to nerves or stress. I figured this was a bullshit cop-out answer for not knowing what's wrong with me, but I suppose if everyone's wrong, maybe it's that I'm wrong. I need to find out how to deal with stress without eliminating it, because I work especially well under stress, and I need to be at my peak for the next year and a half of school (I'm at UC Berkeley doing Bioengineering).

I have tried eliminating caffiene out of my diet to no avail, and have started exercising, but this is seriously getting in the way of school (I missed a quiz this morning because I couldn't make it to class). There is no correlation to my diet because while some food will bother my stomach everytime (pizza, cheesecake, etc), the past times I almost went to the hospital I had a bread roll and a mike's hard lemonade, and this time was a bagel w/cream cheese and apple juice. Any ideas?