How to connect remotely to second router in network?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cmsurfer, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I setup a second router in my house as a bridge with DD:WRT. I am attempting to set it up so I can connect to it remotely, but I can't get it. I can get to the main router via the outside IP, but can't figure out how to get the port forward stuff setup to get to the other router. Any ideas?
     
  2. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    So why can't you setup a port forwarding rule for some random port number on the first router(internet facing) and have it forward to port 80(or 8080 I forget what ddwrt uses by default)
     
  3. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    if they are on the same subnet it should be no problem at all.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Yeah, if you want to access the GUI of the second router from the outside you will need to assign the GUI to run on a port other than 80 (or whatever the main router is running on) Then forward that port to the internal IP of the second router. Then you will be able to access the second router at http://externalIP:Port
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I stuck both routers on the internet, then tied them together. There's a bunch of reasons why I did this, but you might want to go that route if you're able to have more than one IP.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I setup port forwarding on port 8085 to the internal IP of the second router. On the second router, I made the GUI port the same, but it doesn't connect. I also changed the ports it connects on and it's the same issue. I wonder if I have a setting on the DD:WRT wrong or missed since when I try to connect, it immediately goes to a page cannot be displayed error. I don't know what I am missing here...
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Nope, I can't have more than on IP. It's not a big deal to get this working, but there's no reason why it shouldn't work.
     
  8. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    did you try using https when connecting from outside?
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    No, because I did not check the https check box on the dd:wrt router.
     
  10. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Have you tried reading through the FAQs and KBs on www.dd-wrt.com? I use two routers in my home network, using 1 as a bridge, but I have never needed to access the GUI of the second router from outside the network. And the few times I have done it, I just connected via Remote Desktop to a machine on the network and used the browser on it.
     

Share This Page