MIL How to become a Fighter Pilot?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by David, Apr 16, 2006.

1. David

David New Member

My dream job is to become a Fighter Pilot. I'm only a sophomore in HS currently, but whats it take? This is something I really want to do. I'm a 2nd year in AFJROTC, I have ~2.5 GPA total.

Last edited: Apr 16, 2006
  2. David

David New Member

I'm having trouble finding requirements and such...

3. David

David New Member

I understand that I need to bring my school-life together. I'm working on it. And I've wanted to be a fighter pilot LONG before i saw any video about it.

Last edited: Apr 16, 2006
  4. burton564

burton564 New Member

you wanna be a fighter pilot, your ass needs to go to either af or naval academy.

5. shiba

shiba Active Member

-you need grades (you can't let just anyone fly)
    - good eyes or correctable with lasik (no astigmatism, Lasik is free if you qualify)
    -a certain height weight requirement (gotta fit into the cockpit)
    -good score on the AFAST, no prior medical conditions, pass the physical and a willingness to leave everything behind and train.

afjrotc won't play a factor in determining yuor future as a fighter pilot.

6. FalconXtreme

FalconXtreme w3rd

7. Jeg1983

Jeg1983 OT Supporter

I would not want to be a fighter pilot after attempting to stuff myself into an a-10 and a f-16

8. Mr Roboto

Mr Roboto Flat Black Member

It's the same. No Lasik, PRK with a waiver.

9. David

David New Member

I gotta pull my grades up starting NOW :( I have an F in Chem and a D in Geometry. The rest are C's and B's.

10. burton564

burton564 New Member

i'm tellin you, start looking into an academy. you can have a 3.0 and get in, they don't care about your grades all that much as long as you are well rounded, so join some school clubs and shit like that.

11. Mr Roboto