How simple is it to add a hard drive?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NCTRNL, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Is it better to add an internal drive or external drive? I don't do much work inside computers so would it be that easy to add? I know that I have space for one. Just looking for some pointers. PC already has a 40GB drive, so just want to add another drive. It is Windows XP Home.
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    both are easy. external is easiest, but the internal procedure goes like this:

    make sure the current drive jumper is set to master, set the new drive jumper to slave, connect the end of the ribbon cable to the master and the middle connector to the slave, connect power to the new drive, boot the operating system and go into disk administrator to set it up.
     
  3. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Are there any advantages to external vs internal?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    External you can move from one computer to another, however the transfer speeds won't be the same (unless something new has come out - it's been awhile).
     
  5. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Look for an 8 MB cache
     
  7. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  8. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    If you plan on adding anything larger that 120 you need to add a controller card to be able to use everything under 1 partition.
     
  9. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    so if I stay at 120, will I be okay?
     
  10. V

    V Corrupt and Immoral

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    24,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yes. and adding an internal drive is really really easy. they come with instructions and there really isnt much to it.
     
  11. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Not necessarily true. WinXP w/SP1 can read volumes over 137GB.
     
  12. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Yeah, think it's sp1a specifically, still sux though when I was trying to do a fresh install on a 160 drive and it only sees 132, then I gotta run partition magic to make it all better. Can't wait for that hardware to be fully supported under linux.
     
  13. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  14. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Not bad my usual pecking order is Seagate>WD>Maxtor
     
  15. NCTRNL

    NCTRNL New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  16. Derek

    Derek OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    20,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Yes, that should do just fine. Most computers today use IDE, but you'll see more and more using SATA drives in the future. That looks like a good drive. Like it was said before, just make sure you have the jumpers set correctly and go from there.
     
  17. LIQUID

    LIQUID #HarambeBless

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    40,003
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    By the ocean, FL
    external = super easy

    internal = still easy

    newegg always gots some awesome deals

    I put 2 120GB 8MB Cache HDs in my PC a month or so ago..it took like 5 minutes to install then a little longer to set up (format, etc) but was worth it

    edit: quick tip...if you get to a point where you do not know what to do look at the other drive in your pc and wire it the same (like which side is the red cord on, etc) :mamoru:

    good luck :wavey:
     

Share This Page