How much video horsepower and I really going to need?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdaniel, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,514
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    to run Vista's aero glass on TWO 1600x1200 monitors? I know pretty much any card I can buy today will support that much resolution, but I wonder about the load aero will add.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Considering that Intel's 950 integrated video controller will be able to handle it, it's very unlikely that you'll have any problem. Besides, you should remember that video games will obscure the entire desktop, and as such none of the Aero Glass bits will need to be rendered when you're gaming.
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,514
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    3200x1200 is a lot of pixels though. That's only 12MB of memory at 24 bit color for 2D windows, but I don't know how much memory aero is going to want for that large of a desktop.
     
  4. Mr. Kitty Litter

    Mr. Kitty Litter OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    29,801
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Here and there
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The amount of memory needed to store every pixel on the screen will never change -- the amount of memory needed to render the 3D polygons into a flat raster image depends on the complexity of the 3D mesh. Given that it's Windows, I gotta say it's not going to be too complicated.
     

Share This Page