WEB How much to charge for freelance web design?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Secret Agent Man, Mar 12, 2009.

1. Secret Agent Man

Secret Agent Man New Member

My friend's company needs a new website... Currently that's what I do for a living, but I'm with one company on salary. He asked if I was interested, and how much I might charge, but I have no fucking clue how much I should say. It's relatively basic, probably just a couple dozen pages, with all the info already there (their current site sucks ass and they need a new one).

Anyone have any tips on setting a price? I don't want to be too high and scare them off, and I don't want to be too low and get ripped off. :hsd:

2. Phasm

Phasm OT Supporter

It depends on a lot of factors.

1.) Your knowledge/experience/credentials

2.) The needs of the project "a couple dozen pages" can be a paragraph on each or custom php applications to do specific tasks. This can change a 20 hour project into a 200 hour project.

Check out this tool to help you figure out what is best for you to charge:

http://freelanceswitch.com/rates/

and something to keep in mind - I've overquoted people. They typically will come back with a counter offer and if they give you a response like "WHOA, NOT IN THIS LIFETIME, PAL" then move on because they'll squeeze every last penny of their investment out of you.

3. Secret Agent Man

It would be basic... Like really fucking basic. No advanced scripts or really intense bullshit or anything like that. All the info is already right there, they just want it to look prettier. As it is, it looks like something I could've made when I first started designing web pages when I was like 11.

As for knowledge/experience/credentials, I only have about two years of professional experience, along with a bunch of fucking around in my spare time for a decade or so before that. :dunno:

4. Phasm

Phasm OT Supporter