How much RAM is overkill?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by thinkhard, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. thinkhard

    thinkhard OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am building a new Intel system for gaming. I was wondering if there was any advantage to having more than 4gb of RAM and running Vista64, or is I should stick to 4gb and run Vista32.

    Would I see a performance difference?
     
  2. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    i don't think you'll need 4gb or more than that.
     
  3. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Games are still predominantly 32-bit applications, so more memory and a 64-bit OS don't offer any help.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I'd say 2+2 gigs. You can then add more later.
     
  5. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    in my new gaming machine im gonna have 6 gigs, but only because in order to utilize the triple channel memory i'd have to have 3 sticks, so it's either 3 gigs or 6 gigs :madfawk: i think 4 gigs is optimal these days... if not a little high.
     

Share This Page