A&P How much is too much?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Collective, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Collective

Collective OT Supporter

When it comes to photo editing...

Sorry if I'm inquiring on a subject that's already been discussed recently, but it got me thinking tonight. I went out with a friend and did a brief photo-shoot at sunset/nighttime. When I got home I ended up doing a fair amount of editing in Photoshop - sometimes it was minimal like cropping, other times I needed to adjust the contrast/exposure settings. I'm still VERY new at this photography thing, but I feel like I've been doing too much editing on the pictures I take.

So I guess my question is, with more practice is it safe to say that I'll eventually get better at shooting pictures exactly the way I want? Or even then, how much editing do you photo-gurus do on your photos?

Or is it even a combination of the two.

It's not that I'm getting discouraged, but sometimes I suppose I feel like I'm cheating when I enhance my photos.

2. Jbrown

Jbrown OT Supporter

I figure once you get good, you shouldn't have to do too much editing, since you'll get exposure, framing etc right.

But it all depends on what you want pics too look like :dunno:

3. isaac86hatch

isaac86hatch This thread sucks

Who cares? Edit til your heart's content.

4. Collective

Collective OT Supporter

Well I understand that photography is an incredibly subjective thing - I'm taking a photography course in college right now, and my instructor essentially relies on Photoshop for everything. But at the same time I've met various photographers that hate this method because they see it as a form of cheating and masking less talent. I've seen some incredible photographs here and I'm just curious if the masses choose to edit or to go make it all count at the time of the shot. :dunno:

But I guess you two are right. It depends on how you want the shot to look - and there are many methods that are unattainable from a camera alone.