How much difference does thermal paste make

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by pimphat, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. pimphat

    pimphat hmmm

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    My friend installed an athlon 64 for me but the thermal paste didn't connect properly and now it's a bit spread out and doesnt seem to be sufficiently connected.
    I have thermal monitoring and it's hitting 60 degree under load. Is this the problem? Should I just buy more paste or what..
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Makes a pretty big difference. Get some Arctic Silver or something, remove all the old stuff, spread a very very thin layer on the chip (as per the instructions) and then remount the heatsink.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    shouldn't run more than 40degrees.

    Arctic silver is overrated imho... ceramique is better. I use some industrial stuff that comes in a tub... but that's too much for the average-joe to buy.
     
  4. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    yeah, that is way too hot, as for what thermal paste to use, there is supposedly not much of a diff between ceramique and arctic silver5, but you may need to reapply the as5 once in a while. the ceramique is very thick and does not need to be reapplied.
     
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    40C? i wish. i idle @ 48 :) passive cooling though :)
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    my xp2500+ oc'd to 3200+ is 32 degrees idle, and 34 degrees load... I'm using the Zalman passive cooler.
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    it doesn't have a fan?
     
  8. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    the a64's only require one drop right in the middle of the cpu.

    just an fyi
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    nope
     
  10. joshk87

    joshk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Royalton, OH
    What are your ambient temps like then? your room is probably pretty cool. those are watercooling temps on a passive cooler. got any pics?
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    here's a pic of the mobo w/cooler. I'll try and hook it up and get some action shots.

    My ambient temps are cool... maybe 60 degrees F.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. joshk87

    joshk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Royalton, OH
    now thats a monster heat sink. looks good. I figured your ambient temps had to be pretty low to get temps like that with passive cooling. thats too cold for me though, my room temp needs to be in the 70's F to be comfortable.
     

Share This Page