How much CPU power do you need in a gaming rig ??

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by AE x 11ty, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. AE x 11ty

    AE x 11ty Guest

    Some people go all out. I'm assuming that's for games that will come in the future, eh ?? But the main power lies in the Video Card, does it not ?? So, a Core 2 Duo should probably be perfect for at least 4 more years, eh ??

    I currently have a Pentium 4 3GHz, AGP, DDR1 memory. I've been thinking about spending $100 for a Radeon 3850 for my AGP slot (the best AGP card). But I figure that's too much. I might as well go for the gold. I'm in need of a major update anyhow. If not the processor, then the AGP motherboard. Probably next year, when the new PCI-E and USB 3.0 specifications come out, I will probably go with the i7 920, PCI-E 3.0, DDR3.

    The last few days, I've been reading a lot about overclocking. I've never built my own PC, and I've never overclocked. This ought to be interesting. Hopefully there is an i7 price drop when the Core i9 comes out next year.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2009
  2. procrastinator

    procrastinator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    13,333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the culture
    Depends on the game. Some games are more CPU limited due to physics calculations etc, arma 2 for example. Other games are limited by the graphics card.
     
  3. Boomdart

    Boomdart New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    40,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    My q6600 has never failed me yet at 1680x1050 (monitor rez) with full graphics on everything, including oblivion, psychonauts, need for speed: undercover/carbon, uhm...Test drive unlimited, Spore, and the most amazing of all, Sim City Societies (this game would drag ass on your system, get more than 1000 people in your city and you better have some good gear in your comp to play w/o being a slideshow...basically the reason I upgraded to what I have now was for that game)

    The only game that does give me trouble is Marvel Ultimate Alliance. I can't see why either, but it could just be all the flashing lights explosions and people flying around the screen that makes it look bad.

    Full system: q6600 stock w/ zerocool fan or something, 4gb ram whatever the best my mobo can use, a cheap mobo but it supported the 1333mhz bus which some didn't, and a 9800gt 512mb video card. audigy 2 sound card from my last computer.

    I imagine building my computer today would be super cheap, and it's still pretty good. For the price though I'd pay a few extra bucks and get a GTX series video card.
     
  4. Boomdart

    Boomdart New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    40,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've thought about overclocking, but I've also thought about how pointless it is. If you're getting a new computer and it's better than mine, I can't imagine it needing to be more powerful. My framerates are fine and smooth, dunno what they are but they're not skipping on anything I've run yet.

    couldn't see increasing the temp of your cpu 10 degrees for a few extra fps.

    Procrastinator is right too, just thought i'd add that in.
     
  5. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Core 2 or better.
     
  6. poin

    poin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minoc
    About 14.
     
  7. Wolf Demon

    Wolf Demon HURF DURF OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    39,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana State, son
    Sim City Societies :bowrofl:
     
  8. Elusid

    Elusid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I didn't think the CPU made THAT much of a difference in games but I was running a Q6600 with a 4870X2 with Crysis at 1920x1200 stock and when I OCd my CPU I got a good 40-50% increase in FSB. Just go I7, it's not that much more expensive than 775 but if you wanted to do 775 a Q6600 goes for $200 now on newegg
     
  9. Elusid

    Elusid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    That's why you liquid cool ;) My OCd Q6600 @ 3.4GHz ran at less than 40C full load.
     
  10. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I have a stock Q6600 I'd like to overlock but I never looked into how. With 4GB of RAM and an 8800GTS 512MB GPU, I'd say my biggest bottleneck right now is the graphics card. So I'd say if you have a high-end dual core of a quad core, you won't need a new CPU for a while. I've had mine for nearly 2 years and I can see this build lasting another 2 years with a high-end graphics card upgrade. :coold:... at least thats what I'm hoping
     
  11. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    When you're moving from a late C2D or early Quad core model, the differences aren't as noticable to a mid-low range rig vs replacing a P4 (Intel threw that architecture to the wayside) with an E or Q series cpu. The TS will see tremendous gains on games like CoD4 and TF2 with the newer processor and/or better GPU vs his old stuff.
     
  12. lancer

    lancer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    28,230
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austin
    I have an e8500, I dont see the need to upgrade for quite a while since it can run most games. I need a new heatsink though. this stock shit isnt going to fly.
     
  13. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    :werd: I jumped from a Pentium 4 with an Nvidia 6600 GPU and 512MB of RAM to my current Q6600/880GTS 512/4GBDDR2 880Mhz... the jump is ridiculous, you'll cream your pants when you upgrade. My P4 slowed down so easily after a fresh format.... with my current build, I have never felt the need to format because system performance was bogged down, and it's always speedy. Not sure if I'm taking that correlation as causation in a valid way but ... either way, you'll be happy with a dual core or quad core. A lot of people will tell you to wait for Q1 2010 when a bunch of new shit is supposed to be coming out... you can spend a long time waiting for tech though, so fuck that.
     
  14. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Are you overclocking? If not, then wtf?
     
  15. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I have the following

    Core 2 Duo E6700
    2 gig ram
    Win XP Pro SP 3
    ATI HD 4850

    Not overclocked at all

    I run everything at 1920x1080 resolution on a 22" Acer Monitor

    Currently the highest demanding game I run is Arma 2.

    I have never had an issue with this computer and you could prob duplicate it for around $500 now I am guessing. Its over a year old now. Going to get a quad processor in it this Christmas and then call it quits with upgrades for 2 years and then buy my next machine.
     
  16. lancer

    lancer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    28,230
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austin
    will be as soon as I get the heatsink. my cpu runs really hot right now because texas is hot as balls.
     
  17. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Core 2 Duo @ 3.15GHz
    2GB of memory
    8800GT

    I run Fallout 3 on High settings @ 1920 x 1200 at 40 fps.

    Don't get anything less than Core 2 Duo, but Quad core can be had very cheaply now. Go quad.
     
  18. Rumble

    Rumble OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario
    as much as possible
     
  19. AE x 11ty

    AE x 11ty Guest

    By overclocking an i7 2.66GHz CPU to 3.60GHz with the stock fan/heat sink, you're basically turning a $300 CPU into a $1,000 CPU. From what I understand, it starts to get unstable in the 3.8 - 4.0 range with the stock fan/heat sink.
     
  20. Boomdart

    Boomdart New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    40,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah...
    Challenge = 0

    when I get really stoned I just like to watch my little people walk around and see what they do :o

    I have one town with like, 30,000 people in it.

    my last computer could barely manage 300 people in a town before it turned into a hideous slideslow.
     
  21. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    AC nigga
     

Share This Page