How many calories should I be consuming *Body in stravation mode*

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Inferior_Light, Apr 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inferior_Light

Inferior_Light Dear Homer, IOU one emergency donut. Signed Homer.

I'm sure my body is in starvation mode and has been for the last 3 or 4 years. During this time frame I hardly ate lunch or breakfast (few times a month for several years) and always had a big dinner. This resulted in about 1000-1300 calories per day.

I've been lifting for 6 months and I've seen some OK gains, but not what I've been looking for. After realizing the problem I found myself on OT researching what I'm doing wrong.

For the past few weeks I've completely changed my diet and bought some Whey protein.

I've been eating breakfast, lunch and dinner. Consuming around 2200 calories per day.

I know I need to be eating more, but I'm afraid my metabolism will take a few months to get where I need be. I assume this is gradual process, correct?

I'm I on the right track? Am I eating enough calories? How long can it take for your metabolism to repair itself after this kind of damage?

Breakdown:

Food:
    Breakfast: Oatmeal/Eggs
    Snack: Apple
    Lunch: Teriyaki chicken rice bowl
    Dinner: Soup/Salad/Chicken/Fish/Pasta

All I drink is water and I have one glass of milk with whey protein after lifting.

Workout:
    30 minutes elliptical
    30-45 minutes lifting

2. Marix

Marix OT Supporter

It can be gradual yes. But I reckon you can kick-start it.

How much do you weigh?

I have a friend who did similar. He is 250lbs, and has weighed that for years - neither gaining nor losing weight. He ate lots to get to that weight and then started doing what you described - eating nothing until dinner, then eating 1000 calories.

He did two weeks on 4000kcal and then cut down to 2000kcal and stuck with it. Weight has been falling off ever since.