A&P How long does it take you to come up with the proper exposure?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by AmosBanks, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. AmosBanks

    AmosBanks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I needed to take a new Facebook profile photo. I found a place with suitable lighting, positioned my camera and maybe 20 shots later I had the exposure that I was satisfied with. How long should it take a photographer to come up with proper exposure? Is that something taught in photography classes?

    You know how in Name That Tune the contestants tried to name it in as few notes as possible? Should I be trying to get skilled enough to instantly assess the environment or do even the best photographers just shoot/adjust/shoot/adjust/shoot/adjust?

    I have a D80. Do those of you with DSLRs just start with Auto and make adjustments from there or do you start dialing in the shot right away? So many questions. Always a noob...
     
  2. Chicle

    Chicle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cancun, Mexico/Milwaukee, WI
    read your manual. your camera will have a exposure meter to tell you what the correct exposure is.
     
  3. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    use your light meter, display your images and check for clipping

    use your camera in manual mode, dont ever use it in auto
     
  4. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    LURKER MANIA!!!
     
  5. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Doesn't do shit for the flash though, I've been reading up on this E-TTL stuff for a while and I still don't get how to expose for flash (assuming I don't have an external lightmeter, and that I only have my pop-up flash) :o
     
  6. Kappa00

    Kappa00 Pizza

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let's find out!
    Oneeee
    TwHOOO
    threee
    *Crunch*
    threee
     
  7. Chicle

    Chicle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cancun, Mexico/Milwaukee, WI
    true
     
  8. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,610
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    What are you trying to accomplish? If you hit the * button (flash exposure compensation) and then take a shot, it'll give you a decent exposure.
     
  9. Total Xenocide

    Total Xenocide OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Signing in.

    +1 on the light meter, but also check out the histogram?
     
  10. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    this works fine. i also have trouble, they dont seem to turn out like i want them too look like in my head, unless i use ringflash.
     
  11. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    heres an example of on camera flash gone wrong
    i should know better but oh im not used to lighting.

    i dont usually do things this poorly but i just bought new flash and had to try it out

    [​IMG]
     
  12. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean "gone wrong?" Its exposed properly. That is all that ttl can do for you, its not going to make things look like you shot them with a group of Profoto strobes. It just reads the exposure and flashes accordingly.

    Nikon has a much better and more accurate system than Canon does, though the newest Canon flashes and cameras are a hell of a lot better than they used to be.

    You can shoot in any mode, even manual and the ttl flash will just try to expose the image properly for the flash. You dont have to figure anything out, that is what ttl is supposed to do for you.

    However, you still need to know how an on camera flash will make the images look and if you dont want the standard flash look, you'll need to compensate for it or use off camera lighting. TTL cant do that for you.
     
  13. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    On topic, you should easily be within one or two shots of perfect exposure right off the bat if you know how to read your meter and use the proper settings. And that is whether you're using Auto, a priority mode or manual exposure.
     
  14. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    3-4 shots w/ off camera light
     
  15. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    I'm like a sniper. One shot, One kill.
     
  16. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    well i havent used on camera flash in 2 years or so, besides the ringflash. i forgot how harsh it is. i was testing the high speed sync i think the shutter was around 1/500 sec
     
  17. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    I know for optimal situations, you just fire and the system fires the preflash, E-TTL meters, then sends out a flash that gives you correct exposure.

    But, do I worry about ambient exposure at all? Or only when it's possible? The reason I'd use this flash is in low-light situations, not really as fill...
     
  18. AmosBanks

    AmosBanks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yeah, I was gonna use the Tootsie Pop analogy instead of Name That Tune...
     

Share This Page